We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel St. Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Pierre
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Portage, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you want to go to New Orleans and be fairly close to Bourbon Street but not pay the high prices, stay here. It is a quaint hotel with friendly staff. You will not get the high end soaps, carpets, furniture or bed spreads but what you will get for the price is a safe, clean hotel that has 2 small pools and a nice breakfast. The front desk staff was always willing to help with our questions and line up tours or cabs for us whenever we needed them to. I will be back and have told many people about this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lkarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    517
    222
    105
    146
See reviews for
314
646
79
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

When my daughter and I checked in the clerk was too busy ordering his lunch menu on the phone to help us- we had to wait. The first room looked ok until my daughter found her bed had not been changed and there were strands of dark hair in her bed (she's blonde). So next room- dark stain on ceiling -very small and run down looking but beds ok and it was late. Power went off everytime we used the hairdryer! 2 visits by fat freddy the cockroach but I had to draw a line when it tried to get under our door- but at least the clerk apologised when I asked for the can of Raid! We were lucky to be there when some great girls were visiting and so that company made for a fun visit. Location good. Buildings pretty but the management need a shake up -there are employees I would promote and some I would sack. This could be a great boutique hotel what a shame the managment or lack of it let it down -it needs investment on it to bring it up to an acceptable standard- it has potential but not at the moment!

Room Tip: The jazz museum and garden ground floor should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

well, we were pleasantly surprised to find this 200 year old hotel quite nice after being told not to stay here! Our room #146 was clean, linens fresh, big king sized 4 poster bed with frig and a charming walk out onto a small veranda via the large window!
Just off Bourbon street made it quiet at night to sleep but only a minutes walk from the activity!
Everyone was very accomodating and helpful. Bang for the buck, the place to stay. I did hear that if you stayed in the main hall, it was a bit noisy if people walked in late.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy9117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

All the employees were gtreaty, they took care of every need/questions we had. Troy was the best, he always asked if all was ok and made sure we knew best placves to go see/eat. A must stay and we will bne returning in the future.
D. Walton
Houghton Lake, mi

Room Tip: ask for room 147, really a nice setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acafool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Place is a dive! Only nice I can say is that it is in a convenient location. Don't upkeep very well. Electricity goes out often, shower pressure inconsistent at best. Roaches have been spotted. Even cheap with their tiny bottles of soap, shampoo and body wash. Some of he clerks can't be bothered to call a cab for you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishpat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in town for the weekend to attend a wedding and chose this hotel because we waited too long to book a different hotel and the price was right. At first glance, in the hotel lobby the place seems a little old but it had "New Orleans charm" so we weren't too worried at first. When the very nice bellman, Anthony (mentioned by a previous reviewer) took us to our room - across the street and through an iron gate that we were assured "stays locked 24/7", we got a little suspicious. Once through the somewhat run-down courtyard, we were shown our room. It contained the smallest double bed I have ever seen, plus another single bed in a little room off of the main room. The carpet was dirty, the cleanliness of the bed (bedspreads, at least) was questionable and there is was only one little chair to sit on - no other places to sit. The TV was old a tiny - not too much of a concern because we weren't planning on watching a lot of TV, if any - but the furnishings were odd. The bathroom was old but seemed clean - except the mirror above the sink was hung so high that I could only see the top of my head (admittedly, I am only 5' 1"). Husband and I decided to just roll with it, as we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room. After settling in a bit, walking around the Quarter and coming back to get ready for evening festivities, we came back and noticed how very unsecured the door was - it couldn've been easily opened by one swift kick or push, despite the fact that it was locked. (In hindsight, perhaps this is why it was situated behind the locked gate?) There were gaps large gaps at the top and bottom of the door.....the room smelled very musty....etc.

Alas, we made a "plan B" and stayed at another hotel that night. We simply checked out, did not ask for a refund, we just wanted to go. The man at the front desk did not seem phased by the fact that we checked out only hours after checking in and that we had a reservation for two nights. He took our keys and we were on our way.

Might be okay for some, just not for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A group of us stayed at the St Pierre during a recent convention. We had a good deal of fun because we could unwind by one of the pools during the evenings drinking wine bought at the convenience store across the road. I had a small room with a balcony, which would have meant sleepless nights if we had been closer to Bourbon, but here it was mercifully quiet. The crowds drop within a block of Bourbon, which in my view is overcrowded and rather over-rated. There are some good restaurants on and near Burgundy, and many more along Frenchman Street which is 15 min walk away.
In the hotel I liked the variety of rooms and the eccentric character (in the UK we value eccentricity). The shower in my room was not great - pressure was too low, but it was good enough. The balcony was narrow but wide enough to sit out on. Looking in my friends rooms showed the wide range - those refurbished recently looked pretty good. The mix of buildings and courtyards was a great antidote to the standard modern concrete chain hotels. Breakfast was basic but good. I liked the unsweetened porridge oats, and the coffee usually tasted more like coffee than in many American hotels. Bagels and pastries seemed OK. WiFi was free and worked pretty well.
During our stay the staff were very helpful and friendly.
I would stay again, but might also try the Andrew Jackson. I have stayed in several of the regular chain hotels in New Orleans in the past and enjoyed this one better - despite its limitations.

Room Tip: If you want new carpets and more modern furniture try to get a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#59 of 163 in New Orleans
551 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 163 in New Orleans
1,745 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 163 in New Orleans
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 163 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
2,556 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Pierre

Property: Hotel St. Pierre
Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#83 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $39.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing