We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ Meats”
Review of The Joint

The Joint
Ranked #28 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Meats”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It's a little off the beaten path in a residential area. Very bare bones furnishing and dinnerware but the menu had a great selection of smoked BBQ meats. All served on paper in a basket with a selection of sauces at the table. It was our best experience with BBQ fare with reasonable pricing. Worth the taxi ride there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elliotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    210
    61
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hipster Divey”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great location outside of the usual French Qtr tourist trap area. Good bbq that was tasty and not overly sweet. Large portions and clean dining area. I had the bbq chicken - good especially since I don't like syrupy sweet bbq... it was blackened seasoned juicy goodness. My friend had the brisket and ribs - both were tender and seasoned. You will leave the Joint smelling of smoke... but in a good way. Recommended - I will return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank flacaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights,MI
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Was there on a cold (for NOLA) Saturday night. Atmosphere and staff were great. The food was outstanding. Brisket and ribs have the char look of great smoked meat. No stop to NOLA in the future will be made without a visit to The Joint. This visit was made the night before a 7 day cruise to the Caribbean. Nothing we had compared to the BBQ we had to start our vacation journey.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Outstanding brisket!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Joint is located in the Bywater neighborhood of NOLA, which was once a very sketchy area but has been revitalized by a somewhat hipster crowd. You'll need a car to get here if you are a tourist staying downtown. I stopped in for lunch based on some of the reviews I had read.

First, the brisket is out-freaking-standing. Both me and my dining companion (a New Orleans native) ordered it and were both in awe. There are a couple of sauces at the table, but you know what, the meat was so tender and flavorful it did not require any additional enhancement. We tried three sides - the green salad with the tomato-and-onion dressing was great as was the potato salad. The macaroni and cheese was OK but not up to the standard of the rest of the meal.

If barbeque is your thing and ambience is less important, then The Joint is highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4959keeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

While visiting NOLA from Texas we were craving some great BBQ and we stopped by the Joint based on the reviews we read. They have great tasting BBQ brisket, pulled pork and ribs. They are not close to the the French quarters but they are worth visiting. I gave them four stars because even though they might have juicy BBQ their service is a bit dry.

Helpful?
1 Thank threemarlenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joint also viewed

 

Been to The Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing