We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly Good”
Review of The Joint

The Joint
Ranked #26 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
New Orleans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shockingly Good”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best pulled pork in America. Living in the South we have bbq everywhere. We had Arkansans and Texans in our group and both were speechless after the first bite of pulled pork.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkansasguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    209
    60
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great BBQ for Nawlins!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We tried this spot out while vacationing last week. It is a great little find. It's off the beaten path, but well worth the trip. After having read many a good review about this place it was a must for us. One review compared it to Memphis BBQ, and that is a bit unfair. I grew up in the MidSouth, and currently reside in SC, so I believe I know what good BBQ is. This place will not disappoint. For Nawlins it is some good stuff. They have to work on the sweet tea, but unlike much of the city they serve it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5OMFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get away from the quarter”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hop in a cab and head out to The Joint for a nice change of pace. It's a joint indeed, but in all the best ways. Don't let the line scare you - it moves quickly. Plus more time for beer! The BBQ is good, as are the sides. Portions are filling. If you still have room try a little pie - no need to hit the line again, just order from the bartender (just don't pronounce it pee-can!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is definitely a place you have to get to early if you don't want to stand in line long...we got there around 11 and it was already filling up. The food was good (no offence to anyone, but my husbands is better), the atmosphere is fun, and it's full of locals, which tells you it definitely good. Worth the trip to find it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth the short trek for awesome BBQ”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Amazing BBQ with a line out the door at lunch. Loved everything about this place. I heard great things about it on here and I wasn't disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lex2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joint also viewed

 

Been to The Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing