We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ in New Orleans? Yeah Buddy!”
Review of The Joint

The Joint
Ranked #18 of 1,945 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BBQ in New Orleans? Yeah Buddy!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have a few decent places in Chicago for BBQ and one was featured on TV, which may be the top place in Chicago. So we figured on trying The Joint while in NOLA...The Joint is out of this world! I must say, the brisket was top notch and the ribs are sooo tender, St. Louis style! The chicken is moist the pork has such good flavor and the sausage has a nice snap and it too has a ton of flavor.

And for the sides, we did the mac-n-cheese, baked beans and the green beans. Mac-n-cheese was my favorite. I also love how the give you a slice of toasted bread and some pickle chips as well.

For us, this will be a repeat every time we are in NOLA!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    209
    58
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ever!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A fun laid back place with food that was amazing. I had the 3 meat plate and all of it was fantastic. Can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abcjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First night in New Orleans, first night in the States and what a first night!
Best bbq food I've ever had. Yes we don't get much BBQ/smoked food in UK, but was one of my favourite ever meals!
My wife and I both ahd the platters and both were stuffed.
Brisket, pulled pork and ribs were all excellent, washed down with a Jackamo IPA from Abita.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCitySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Ribbs”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

the best BBQ Ribs i have had in many years. Great food and atmosphere. Deli style seating and pick up the order yourself when called.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank halbyman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yum”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The best barbeque I've ever, ever eaten. The meat is tender and juicy. The ribs are delicious. This is one of the thousands of reasons I'm so glad I I am lucky enough to live in New Orleans.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joint also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to The Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing