We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best white Russian' s ever”
Review of Cafe Envie

Cafe Envie
Ranked #4 of 58 Coffee & Tea in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: It is local's favorite coffeeshop in lower French Quarter. Best breakfast in the Quarter. Great espresso shots, tea selection, delicious iced coffee, bagels, pastries and deserts. Free wi-fi in beautiful corner store.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best white Russian' s ever”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a delicious peanut butter chocolate chip cookie. Big enough to share. White Russians were made with fresh brewed espresso. Delicious. Still craving them. Great spot for people watching.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillbozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    130
    32
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best coffee experience in the French Quarter”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our go-to place for breakfast in the French Quarter. The food was fabulous, and the coffee drinks were consistently outstanding. Add, free Wi-Fi, a friendly accommodating staff, and you have a perfect place for locals and tourists alike.

This was clearly a 'locals favorite' spot since the staff knew nearly everyone on a first name basis. Imagine my surprise when we were treated with the same friendliness during our first and subsequent visits. A friendly, competent staff, outstanding food, and all of the baristas have clearly been well trained since we had flawless lattes and cappuccinos with different baristas over a three week

Even when we moved further away from Cafe Envie later in our trip we made it a point to stop by at least one a day to have an excellent coffee, check our email and converse with the friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roystotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Felt like home...”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped here for Irish Coffee on a cold, drizzly morning after a long walk. Did not eat, but would have if we had more time. Friendly and efficient staff, cozy and comfortable atmosphere. This is what Starbucks would strive to be if it could.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb-in-Redmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Starbucks could learn something......”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I see a lot of reviews on the food, but I did not have any! However, I can share that I had by far and away the best latte of my life. After my first sip, I literally went back and thanked the barista! The coffee was flavorable, the right amount of foam, and right amount of milk. I would be remiss if I did not mention that their was even a foam design. If you are a coffee lover like myself, then you know there is nothing better than a good latte! (and there is nothing worse than some cafes calling a horrible mixture of shots and milk a latte)

The atmosphere is great too. Laid back, no rush, and just able to relax.

So kudos to Envie and their barista. Thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very tasty breakfast”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very tasty breakfast options at Envie, and a wonderful, friendly staff. We really enjoyed our meal, and it's in such a fun location. Open windows make for a great atmosphere. Great coffee, delicious omelets, good buttery biscuits. I'd happily return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Envie also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Envie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing