We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hefty portions satisfied us”
Review of Golden Wall

Golden Wall
Ranked #1,005 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hefty portions satisfied us”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Located in the highly populated part of New Orleans, parking is extremely scarce. However, for quick and fast Chinese, it's probably one of the best I've been to. The portions are very generous. Our To go box was packed to the hilt. It was plenty of food for all of our family of 5!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
253 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“great Chinese food near the French Quarter”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

From the outside, the Golden Wall did not look like attractive, but since we were looking for a break from fried chicken and gumbo, this seemed like a reasonable alternative. Like most good Chinese restaurants, the owners did not pay a lot of attention to the decor, but focused on the food instead. The interior of the restaurant was bare-bones simple, with functional tables and chairs and not much else. The food, however, was another story. It was very good, authentic Chinese food in huge portions, using good quality ingredients and cooked very well. The fried chicken wings were simply amazing! The price was quite cheap considering the amount and quality of food. One dish can easily feed two people. It is a great alternative when you want to try something other than the local cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cutie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Surprisingly decent for the price...”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

First, set your expectations: This is a somewhat dumpy looking (albeit reasonably clean) place on Canal Street, mainly popular for takeout Chinese. But let me tell you, when you've spent days eating way overpriced gumbo and etouffe and running about $50 per person tabs for lunch routinely, you need a break. This place is convenient to several hotels, including the Ritz Carlton, Hyatt, Saint, Marriott Pere Marquette, and others. It is very reasonably priced. I got enough garlic chicken and vegetables and a quart of wonton soup to feed 2 adults -- for about $13. For $25, you can feed a family of four. Is it upscale Chinese? No way. But it's decent takeout for a very appealing price. The wonton soup is quite good. Garlic chicken good too. Triple delight not as good; didn't like the texture of the beef (over tenderized mystery meat, as common in cheap Chinese places....). But overall, for a quick takeout urge -- it's good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ATLDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The delivery was timely and food hot and tasty”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had food delivered to our resort/hotel on Chartres, when we called in our order they said 30 to 35 minures and it arrived exactly in 35 minutes. It was hot in the containers and we found the food was very tasty.
For anyone ordering Chinese food while staying in the French Quarter, I really recommend the Golden Wall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick eating”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Food was over cooked. Atomsphere was good, staff friendly, and place clean. The location was good and in walking distance from my hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redrobin1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Wall also viewed

 

Been to Golden Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing