We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margaritas are amazing; service not so much!”

El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #135 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Margaritas are amazing; service not so much!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

El Gato Negro was one of my must stop restaurants on our recent trip to New Orleans. I had heard such great things about the margaritas, I just had to have a couple. My wife and I both ordered the Pineapple Cilantro & Lime margaritas which were delicious. We had two each. :) If rating the restaurant only on the drinks and complimentary chips and salsa, I would rank it 5 stars, however the service left a lot to be desired. After informing the waitress that we would only be ordering drinks (as we had eaten lunch a little earlier), she became disinterested and it showed on her face as well as her actions. It took at least 15 minutes for our margaritas to come up, and another 15 minutes for a refill on our waters. This could have been a one time instance, but we were taken aback. All in all, we would visit the restaurant again, but probably would get our drinks to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    165
    65
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food and Drink first class, service was overwhelmed”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our B&B owner recommended this restaurant as something a little different from the average. He recommended the Cilantro-Pineapple margarita - Tasted very different, but excellent. All of the food and drink was very fresh and well prepared. Some of the best Mexican food we have had. The place was very busy, and there was only one person taking orders, she was overwhelmed. They seemed very short handed and it took us about an hour to get served. Fortunately we had the chips/salsa along with a table side Guacamole and margaritas all around. Very small place, but highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptang60073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“THE best Mexican food!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Watermelon margarita to start- delightful! Salsa and chips? Awesome. Bring on the made at your table guacamole- it's out of this world! I had fish tacos and my husband had shrimp- again, delicious. Dessert... we're flan fanatics. The flan here is tough and overcooked- very rubbery. A disappointment. BUT, the Mexican cake? tres leches? To-die-for!! Absolutely smooth, sweet and decadent. This restaurant is definitely one of our favorites!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4everPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good mexican food and awesome mojitos.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great little Mexican place at the end of the French Market shopping area. Perfect for a quick bite and a refreshing mojito. The guacamole is made fresh at your table. Hot chips and fresh salsa round out great apps. Filet mignon tacos are a nice treat. Huge assortment of tequila is you really want to get your drink on. Cucumber and ginger mojitos are the best. Can't wait to go back and try some more items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmq1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourg, LA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a secret anymore!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just found out that there are 3 of these. I had no idea; I had only been to the one near French Market. I'll make this a simple review....if you like Margaritas, this is your #1 spot. Add in tableside homemade guacamole w/ jalapenos, and you'll be screaming, "it doesn't get better than this"!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank edscissorhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing