We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best homemade corn tortillas and watermelon margarita ever!”

El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #163 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Milton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best homemade corn tortillas and watermelon margarita ever!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was extremely impressed with this place. It was recommended by a local. Chorizo, filet mignon and pulled pork tacos were amazing. Also enjoyed the carrot lime and watermelon margaritas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natalietodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    165
    65
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lobster is an option with several dishes”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife loves lobster so when I found out this restaurant has optional Lobster on many dishes I took her there for lunch. She loved it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackWilsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We thought it was much better than just OK”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

In fact, the food and service was excellent and we'll certainly seek it out the next time we're in the Quarter. The only criticism is that it's a tad pricey. $21 for a shrimp fajita lunch is on the high side. Don't get me wrong, the portion was king sized-more than we could eat. I'd suggest a lunch menu with smaller portions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Satch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First of all, this place was extremely hot....seemed the AC was not working at all...don't know if hat is normal...the salsa was good, the margaritas good, but way overpriced...the guacamole good, but could have done away with the fresh made at the table production, and too much garlic salt...also, I had to ask for more chips...the floors were filthy, just not very impressed...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bugsmom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

$60 for two margaritas, two beers and some guacamole - a little excessive, I think. Although the guacamole was good, it was a large order that should be shared with 4 or more adults.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Naito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing