We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food fix in NOLA”

El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #135 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food fix in NOLA”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is your average tasting mexican food joint. The food is priced above average. The cheese enchilada plate is $14. The first round of chips and hot sauce are free, but the next round will cost $4. I would recommend is this because this is the only descent place around that serves good Mexican food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    165
    65
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holliday, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Mojitos in Town”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a fun place to spend a couple of hours on a sunny afternoon sipping one of their many flavors of fresh fruit mojitos. It is across the street from the French Market so it is fun to sit outside and watch the action over there. The food is really good and the portions are large enough to split. We tried the ceviche last time and it was excellent. The service is great, very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shari Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had our last dinner here in New Orleans and I'm so glad we did! It is a popular place so we waited about 20 minutes to get a seat, but it was worth it! The food was great and the service was too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tkalberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good...but not great!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well...they have a friendly, enthusiastic staff...and the setting is fun and just off the French Market...prices and margaritas are excellent..but the food is just your run of the mill Mexican.
It's still GOOD, mind you, but for me it's nothing spectacular. El Gato will cure your craving for Mexican while in NOLA, so don't be afraid to try it. Try the carrot lime margarita!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mudpuppy_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good food - and it was nice to find somewhere that had a couple of vegetarian options. The first basket of chips and salsa is free.

The restaurant is small - we had to wait 15 minutes for a table, but the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lukehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Gato Negro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing