We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything it is reputed to be”

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 64 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Everything it is reputed to be”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A New Orleans tradition. So it tends to be busy with a long line, but worth the wait. Or go at a slow time and indulge yourself by eating in at one of the few tables. Gelato and ices are superb and the pastries are fresh and varied. Do yourself a favor, skip a couple of meals, and spend the calories here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    128
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Delizioso!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Delicious, fresh pastries. The gelato looks really good too, but I did not have room in my tummy.

The place is cute and super clean. The staff is friendly, smiling and very patient while I decided what I wanted to order.

Will will definitely return!

Tutto benefit!
Grazie!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lissete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish we had one where I live!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The desserts are excellent. The atmosphere is informal and relaxed. The service is friendly and patient with indecisive customers. A visit to New Orleans is not complete until you stop at Angelo.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spoiled for life”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've been to Brocato's at least 25 times in the last 10 years. It's a "must" any time my family and I are in the city. Words cannot effectively describe the gelato or the setting. This is old New Orleans. Brocato's has been around for over 100 years. Middle-aged folks like me grew up going there with their grandparents who went to Brocato's with their parents. There's good reason for the longevity--the desserts are simply the best to be had. Every item is bursting with flavor. One of my favorites is the tortoni--a small, white fluffy rum-flavored dessert in a paper cup. It looks plain and relatively uninteresting next to the colorful spumoni and cassata, but don't be deceived. It is heaven in a paper cup! I also love the spumoni and cassata. I love every gelato I've ever tried: coconut; St. Joseph's chocolate & almond; pannacotta; vanilla; amaretto, strachiacelli (sp?). The tiramisu is outstanding, as is the amaretto cheesecake. Lactose intolerant? Try Brocato's famous homemade fruit ices in a variety of seasonal flavors. My husband loves these. The setting itself is reason enough to go--a charming, old shop with a tin ceiling that will transport you back to "the good old days." Have a cafe au lait with your dessert. Whether you like gelato or not, Brocato's is not to be missed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the pastries but the real highlight was the gelato. The pannacotta was amazing, and would taste phenomenal with fruity varieties of gelato. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing