We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinful deserts”

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sinful deserts”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

In New Orleans you should always have dinner in one place and after dinner drinks and sweets elsewhere. This allows you to sample many places and enjoy the cool evenings. I truly loved this place, well over 100 years old. The Italian ices and the pastries were just great as was the service and the friendly atmosphere

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Indy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    129
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy and fun!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Reminded me of small shops in Rome and Florence! You order at the counter and wait at a table. The staff is energetic and friendly. No wait (we were there at 6:30 pm) - ordered capuccinos for there, and pastry to go, sat and sipped our coffees (my daughter who lives here, I was visiting). Gelato looked so good, but we went for cannoli to bring home (full from dinner). Will definitely go again to try some gelato! Parking can be tough - we cheated and went around the block to Bienville.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“As good as in Italy”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'm not a huge fan on ice cream but love a good gelato. Been to Italy many times and went out of my way there to make sure I had the best gelato. I have to say I was Impressed with gelato at this place. I had : salty caramel, pistachio and hazelnut flavors. Pistachio was my absolute favorite as it wasn't too sweet and just perfectly balanced. Definitely would come back here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia-Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Ice Cream Shoppe”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Small establishment but, as they say, "good things come in small packages". Old time ice cream served with smiles. Great place to take a special someone for dessert of just a sweet cool off.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must go in New Orleans!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found this on TA and we took the trolly there, it is very convenient and right by the Carrollton Ave Station. We were curious about the high ranking on TA as a ice cream place and it turns out it makes perfect sense. It is handed over in family by 4 generations now I think and the first owner is from Sicily Italy, which made all the coffee, ice cream and dessert very Italian. And the staff there are just so friendly and fun. They gave us a lot of good suggestions on where to go and what to eat~

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YuqingX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing