We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“italian pastry heaven”

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mid-City
new orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“italian pastry heaven”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

opened in 1905 in the french quarter, moved to this location about 30 years ago, closed after katrina but had a line of people four blocks long when it re-opened. everything made on-site, my favorites being the mini cannoli, half vanilla half chocolate. an extremely hard to find dessert is baba au rhum and it is quite good here. brocato's is two blocks away from mandina's, another of my favorites in the city. venezia restaurant is steps away and all three can be reached by taking the canal streetcar. (i lived in new orleans for five years and also have italian citizenship, thanks to my italian grandparents and my mother who made many of the same pastries found at brocato's.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    128
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is always my final destination when leaving Nola for home back in Florida.. Being from the NJ/NY area I always find Angelo’s a treat. The freshly made cannoli’s are great. I had a lemon ice that was like the ones from Jersey’s . My server Haley was very attentive and made me an excellent espresso. My co-workers loved the cookies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brizzi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neworleansLA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sweet little shop”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This little place is well run. The service is snappy and every surface is clean. The goodies are well presented and the hum of happy families at big tables adds to the appeal of the visit. I brought my children here when they were young and it's a tradition to bring them back when they come to New Orleans to visit. Great place to bring guests for dessert coffee. It really isn't a place to linger and its too frenetic and well lit to be romantic, but for families with children, or people with a sweet tooth it is "just the thing"!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatzupneworleansLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfecto! Just like gelato in Rome, Italy!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Oh wow. Nothing has ever compared to the gelato I had when I was in Rome, Italy until I went to this place. I have searched low and high in cities from the east to west coast of the United States. This is it! I finally found it! THE BEST! PERIOD. they ship- I think I will order some by mail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yummmm”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As the temperature rises in New Orleans, Brocato's spumoni is a welcome relief. They serve some fantastic desserts and are a must visit for some unique treats!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gournal3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing