We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Ice cream delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 55 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mid-City
SLIDELL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ice cream delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped in on our way home from the Satchmo festival. This is a busy ice cream parlor!! Parking is kind of funky because you pull straight in front of the restaurant which means when leaving you are backing out onto a busy main street. Our family had spumoni, chocolate gelato and chocolate mint gelato. It was all delicious. Service was great. There were several people behind the counter and all of them were happy to see us. We will be going back! It's a delightful special family treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KELLY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    115
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spumoni!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A native New Orleans friend brought us to this Italian ice cream/dessert/pastry shop. The spumoni was delicious! The gelato looked wonderful and I'll try it next time I visit New Orleans, because I definitely WILL be coming back to Angelo Brocato's again on my next visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderAndWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Italian Bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my daughter try to go to every bakery we can. We have been to many Italian bakeries and this one is good. I feel like the pastries are average. I was really looking forward to the cannoli but, I was disappointed with them. I really did not care for them but, my husband said it was ok. The Tiramisu and gelato were very very good. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HotMotherofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place for a Sweet Tooth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Delicious Delicious Delicious!! This place is amazing! They have a wonderful selection of pastries, including their freshly stuffed cannolis, puff pastries, cookies, macaroons, brownies, a beautiful pastry called a Swan, etc. They also have incredible gelato. The almond pistachio is my favorite! Honestly, you need to go hungry because you won't be able to choose just one thing! So many great things to nibble on! Or go with friends and everyone can share!!! YUMMMMMY!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank trojanstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goods and gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a neat little Italian bakery with very yummy cookies, napoleons, parties etc. Wonderful coffee drinks and granitas too. There are many flavors of gelato it's hard to choose just one delicious flavor. The staff members are pleasant. The atmosphere is nice with old fashioned tables. We will make this a regular stop when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly5182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing