We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Bakery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 45 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Italian Bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my daughter try to go to every bakery we can. We have been to many Italian bakeries and this one is good. I feel like the pastries are average. I was really looking forward to the cannoli but, I was disappointed with them. I really did not care for them but, my husband said it was ok. The Tiramisu and gelato were very very good. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HotMotherofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    107
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place for a Sweet Tooth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Delicious Delicious Delicious!! This place is amazing! They have a wonderful selection of pastries, including their freshly stuffed cannolis, puff pastries, cookies, macaroons, brownies, a beautiful pastry called a Swan, etc. They also have incredible gelato. The almond pistachio is my favorite! Honestly, you need to go hungry because you won't be able to choose just one thing! So many great things to nibble on! Or go with friends and everyone can share!!! YUMMMMMY!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank trojanstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goods and gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a neat little Italian bakery with very yummy cookies, napoleons, parties etc. Wonderful coffee drinks and granitas too. There are many flavors of gelato it's hard to choose just one delicious flavor. The staff members are pleasant. The atmosphere is nice with old fashioned tables. We will make this a regular stop when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly5182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On a hot day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good Ice Cream, worth the wait. On a hot day this is a good spot. clean restrooms, prices within reason.

Helpful?
Thank Brodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A little overrated, I feel.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you want a real chocolate eclair, go to a french bakery. The eclairs were good, but nothing special. The small cannelloni's were fresh and crispy and made on the spot. However, the filling was just OK, a little grainy with not much flavor.

The coffee (cafe au lait) was also average.

The seating is not conducive to lingering as it is not comfortable (wrought iron seats).

We did not sample the gelato, for which it is famous. The range seemed excellent. Definitely not the second best restaurant in New Orleans in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParistoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing