We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bafflingly great gelato.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bafflingly great gelato.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A local business owner, who has also spent time in Italy, and has also eaten much Italian gelato, told me Brocato's gelato was better than most of the gelato he'd had in Italy, and on par with the very best he's ever had. I was skeptical, to say the least.

I was wrong to doubt him.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DBCLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    107
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I too have travelled to Italy and this is as good if not better. A must stop! We had salted caramel which was a special flavor.

Helpful?
3 Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the best dessert place and is in a great location.the gelato is great.I love the atmosphere.its a great place for kids...theres a reason its very popular

Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious and delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We just visited Brocato's and had the BEST Tiramisu and Cannoli - the person who gave one star and said they "just returned from Italy" and made a comparison is ridiculous! Of course, it will not rival Europe...but pretty darn delicious for this full-blooded Italian woman from the East Coast! It is rated as a number one place to visit for authentic Sicilian style pastries, biscotti and gelato because of the consistent high quality of the products! Take the Canal streetcar to Carrollton - it is well worth the adventure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhiannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Take the Canal streetcar to check out this historic Italian shop. Cannolis gelato biscotti coffee and more. All very good. We had gelato and cannoli. Cool to visit just because its so historic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthDakotaGirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing