We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Folks, This ice cream shop is #1 restaurant in NO?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 55 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mid-City
St. Augustine, FLorida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Folks, This ice cream shop is #1 restaurant in NO?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The reviews on this ice cream parlor, giving it a rating as the #1 restaurant in New Orleans is beyond my comprehension. We went based on these reviews, and we were disappointed in the adventure. Yes, the ice cream is OK, not the best I've ever had, but it's fine, the service is OK, the bakery items were average, the atmosphere also average. When fellow reviewers give it a "must visit" rating, it naturally brings in visitors. I am not against Angelo Brocato Ice Cream Parlor, I'm just being realistic for the sake of travelers who depend on Tripadvisor.

It's a long drive from the French Quarter for an ice cream cone so get out your electronic map, and it's an even a longer drive when the gelato is more or less average, parking is minimal, and there's very little to see in the area of Angelo Brocato;s.. It's a small ice cream parlor in what may be a vintage building, but surely not a tourist attraction.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingforfun38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    115
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“stop by at least once everytime we're in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

probably the best Chestnut gelato outside of Florence. super seed cookies. Convenient parking. we always stop in before getting boiled crawfish To-Go at KJean's next door, or after dinner at Luizza's (another great italian family owned eating establishment) around the corner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank WildBillT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we recently visited New Orleans. Trip Advisor ranked Angelo's #1 well they were right on!! the ice cream was awesome but the bakery items were out of this world!!! We live in California and plan to visit New Orleans again and this place will be our first stop. You have to go here if you are in New Orleans

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercedesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Italian deserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is your must do if you are looking for Italian treats in New Orleans. It used to be the only place to get gelato in the city, and is still the best. They also do authentic Italian coffee drinks and make amazing cannolis.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Noel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brocato's is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have tried the best Italian bakeries in New York, Boston and the like and none of them hold a candle to Brocatos. It is the best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing