We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gelato & Italian Pastries in this NOLA classic”

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Fullerton, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Gelato & Italian Pastries in this NOLA classic”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I had found this on every foodie site and mist do list. They did not disappoint. Great gelato and beautiful cannolis.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zootarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    128
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gelato and Pastries- this place really ia a tradition”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is not very far from the city park... Perfect to grab some gelato and hang out at the city park... They have so man flavors, there is something for everyone!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sowmya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You must go here”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is an old-fashioned Italian gelato and pastry shop in New Orleans. Everything there is made by the family who owns the store and it's been there seemingly forever. The cannolis are amazing and were the entire reason I first decided to go here. These are filled when ordered and come with vanilla cream on one side and chocolate on the other and then dipped in crushed pistachios. I am not a chocoholic and prefer vanilla, so I always order mine just vanilla. I also love their Italian sodas and you have a huge choice of flavors. You also have a large assortment of gelatos and Italian ices... I am totally in love with the Zuppa Englese flavor. Cookies can be ordered online as well as in store. And they also do coffee. You must go here. Seriously.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lemon ice and other delicacies”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

After a disappointing meal at Vincent's, we headed to Angelo Brocato's for dessert. We had a selection of gelatos, an almond crescent, and a decaf latte. Everything was excellent, and the lemon ice was as just the same as it was when I was a child - sublime. My eleven year old, visiting New Orleans for the first time, declared the lemon ice to be one of the two perfect food he's ever tasted.

It's worth waiting in the long line for Brocato's. the staff are universally pleasant and cheerful, and you will not find a more satisfying dessert.

Helpful?
1 Thank sgsterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
462 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Fantastic gelato and cannoli”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hubs and I shared a medium cup of chocolate hazelnuet and pecan praline. The chocolate hazelnut is perfect but the pecan praline is the gelato that dreams are made of, I mean over the top deliciousness! We got a cannoli to go and forgot about it till the next day-it was no longer crisp but the filling was still fantastic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachbumAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing