We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gelato and Pastries- this place really ia a tradition” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 59 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gelato and Pastries- this place really ia a tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is not very far from the city park... Perfect to grab some gelato and hang out at the city park... They have so man flavors, there is something for everyone!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sowmya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    116
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You must go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is an old-fashioned Italian gelato and pastry shop in New Orleans. Everything there is made by the family who owns the store and it's been there seemingly forever. The cannolis are amazing and were the entire reason I first decided to go here. These are filled when ordered and come with vanilla cream on one side and chocolate on the other and then dipped in crushed pistachios. I am not a chocoholic and prefer vanilla, so I always order mine just vanilla. I also love their Italian sodas and you have a huge choice of flavors. You also have a large assortment of gelatos and Italian ices... I am totally in love with the Zuppa Englese flavor. Cookies can be ordered online as well as in store. And they also do coffee. You must go here. Seriously.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lemon ice and other delicacies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

After a disappointing meal at Vincent's, we headed to Angelo Brocato's for dessert. We had a selection of gelatos, an almond crescent, and a decaf latte. Everything was excellent, and the lemon ice was as just the same as it was when I was a child - sublime. My eleven year old, visiting New Orleans for the first time, declared the lemon ice to be one of the two perfect food he's ever tasted.

It's worth waiting in the long line for Brocato's. the staff are universally pleasant and cheerful, and you will not find a more satisfying dessert.

Helpful?
1 Thank sgsterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
484 reviews
405 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic gelato and cannoli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hubs and I shared a medium cup of chocolate hazelnuet and pecan praline. The chocolate hazelnut is perfect but the pecan praline is the gelato that dreams are made of, I mean over the top deliciousness! We got a cannoli to go and forgot about it till the next day-it was no longer crisp but the filling was still fantastic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachbumAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I Would Give it 500 Stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Brocato's is by far, without a doubt, the place I would suggest most to visit while in New Orleans. Everything about Brocato's is perfection. If it's too cold for ice cream, my top picks are their cherry or apple turnovers, an eclair, or a cream puff - but everything is delicious. Literally, I have never tasted better ice cream.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing