We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of old New Orleans”

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best of old New Orleans”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place has the freshest, and by far the best, canoli(s) on earth. Their ices are made with local fruits. Their other pastries are great too. This is a MUST when we visit family and friends in NOLA.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wernolabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    128
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just go!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I don't know how they do it, but I'm local, go frequently, and always think it's better than the time before. The coconut and blueberry gelato are a must try. I wish they still had the French Quarter location, but it's without question worth making the trip to Mid City.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank klmnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh Lordy can I have a cannoli!!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Gelato. Awesome Cannoli, cookies are fresh and delicicious. This is an original New Orleans favorite which dates back to the turn of the 20th century. Same family traditional old style 'Little Italy" flair. Oh ...The baba au Rum. Coconot gelato, spumoni, zuppa inglese. and of course all the coffees.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingG0urmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Praline gelato amazing”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

You have to get the praline gelato. It's a must! Plus the straciatella is excellent. That is the Italian equivalent of our chocolate chip. Don't miss it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Spumoni is fantastic”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

One of my favourite walks in the world is along Esplanade Avenue from the French Quarter/Faubourg Marigny past Treme to City Park, and then down Carrollton to Angelo Brocato. The houses on Esplanade are brilliant, you see Edgar Degas' mother's place and an unusual girl who has an ostrich as a pet. Then you get to City Park, feed the ducks and swans, and walk down to this great Italian cafe that used to be in the French quarter. The spumoni is brilliant. The aniseed flavoured cookies are old school Italian. The cannoli are light and fluffy. The atmosphere is fun with a mix of locals and tourists. I recommend a jaunt to this place highly even if it is some distance from the classic tourist haunts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing