We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Oh Lordy can I have a cannoli!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 59 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh Lordy can I have a cannoli!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Gelato. Awesome Cannoli, cookies are fresh and delicicious. This is an original New Orleans favorite which dates back to the turn of the 20th century. Same family traditional old style 'Little Italy" flair. Oh ...The baba au Rum. Coconot gelato, spumoni, zuppa inglese. and of course all the coffees.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingG0urmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    116
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Praline gelato amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

You have to get the praline gelato. It's a must! Plus the straciatella is excellent. That is the Italian equivalent of our chocolate chip. Don't miss it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Spumoni is fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

One of my favourite walks in the world is along Esplanade Avenue from the French Quarter/Faubourg Marigny past Treme to City Park, and then down Carrollton to Angelo Brocato. The houses on Esplanade are brilliant, you see Edgar Degas' mother's place and an unusual girl who has an ostrich as a pet. Then you get to City Park, feed the ducks and swans, and walk down to this great Italian cafe that used to be in the French quarter. The spumoni is brilliant. The aniseed flavoured cookies are old school Italian. The cannoli are light and fluffy. The atmosphere is fun with a mix of locals and tourists. I recommend a jaunt to this place highly even if it is some distance from the classic tourist haunts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Italian Ice Cream at it's finest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

You walk in and its cold, especially great in the summer. Then, your problems begin as there are so many options that my mind freezed up. This spumone is so good and then you have so little time before the next choice. This is a slice of New Orleans that needs to be tasted. I think they have made this Italian delicacy for over 100 years

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CajunArgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not much of an ice cream person, but could not resist the urge to taste the so-called best gelato in town. The spumoni reminded me so much of my childhood. Not too sweet, but never forgotten :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soktaviani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing