We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Lunch!”

Grand Isle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Isle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 1,955 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Fulton St & Convention Center Blvd
Ft. Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Lunch!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had lunch at Grand Isle to fortify ourselves before braving the cold at this year's Mardi Gras parades. The Bloody Mary's were a great way to start. My husband had the turtle soup followed by the pork and both were delicious. I chose the fried shrimp platter with fries and coleslaw and was pleased with the freshness and crispiness of the shrimp. The portion was large enough that I needed help from my husband to finish. The coleslaw was very good! We watched servers carrying plates of onion rings that looked absolutely wonderful. We will definitely order some the next time we visit.The restaurant is located on Fulton St., off a courtyard near Harrah's New Orleans Hotel and Casino. It is clean, bright and the tables are nicely spaced apart.All the seats at The Oyster Bar were filled so we can only assume they serve great oysters.The staff was very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the food they served. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    247
    84
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stopped in to Grand Isle for lunch. It has a great, open & airy layout. Our waiter was excellent - attentive and knowledgeable. Our family had two different fish entrees, a seafood platter, and the shrimp caminada poboy, and everything was delicious. Will definitely make a return trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Oysters and Service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our server was very attentive and recommended wonderful wine and appetizers. The oyster appetizer was very good and he kept my wine glass filled. The bread pudding, which is a must in NOLA was tasty too. I would go there again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ychick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We ate here because we had some time to kill, needed lunch, and it was close to our hotel (the Hilton). What a pleasant surprise! Great food, our server was excellent, and reasonably priced for the quality of food. A bit more expensive then I would spend at home for lunch (around $20) but given the fact that I ate delicious, fresh seafood, I found it reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessMacB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A good choice in the Fulton St. area”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My family enjoyed dinner here and experienced an excellent meal which included a variety of dishes. The Shrimp Caminada sandwich is unique and perfectly spiced. My wife had a burger and fries which she said beat the standard. Others had the Fisherman's Stew and Seafood Platter and remarked that all was prepared well with adequate portions. Don't leave off the onion rings if you are a fan. They are a massive dish. Wine and beer all standard varieties. Will be regulars. The service was excellent as expected.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluesDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Isle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grand Isle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing