We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy oysters”

Grand Isle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Isle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 1,963 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Fulton St & Convention Center Blvd
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“yummy oysters”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

the smoked fried oysters were delicious. the bar tenders are friendly and they have a large beer selection. the live music on the patio was fun to listen to.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherryBlossom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    248
    86
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second Trip Better than the First”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The bellman at our hotel recommended this restaurant last year. It was a short walk from the hotel. We enjoyed it enough to try it again on our return trip this year.
This experience was better than the first. I highly recommend the shrimp and grits.
The white chocolate bread pudding is scrumptious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brennyjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for Jazz Fest and the woman at the front desk in our hotel reccommended the Grand Isle. It was the best meal, and reasonably priced, that we hadin New Orleans. We went back and took friends who also said they have never had a better meal, or better service! A+

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding crab cake and drum!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Wow! This restaurant was recommended by the navigator at our hotel. It was amazing. The wait staff was awesome as well as the food. I got the catch of the day which was black drum with stewed okra and tomatoes. So good! My husband got catfish plate and it was also amazing. We both shared the crab cake for appetizer which was just outstanding! Mark Falgoust you did good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to eat !”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was the first place we went to eat when we arrived in New Orleans , it was a good half hour walk from the Hampton Inn & Suites , a great place to eat.
If you are a seafood lover this is the place to go .
Very busy place, when we arrived we did not know how long we had to wait , but it was only 10 minute wait.
The food was great ,great services and would go again !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbiemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Isle Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Grand Isle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing