We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and creative”
Review of Refuel Cafe

Refuel Cafe
Ranked #495 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
New Orleans
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and creative”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went on a Sunday morning, along with half of New Orleans. The tables are close together, but people were having conversations. The menu is
Imited, but offers several decent options. The grits were creamy white. Good for a faster meal in the morning. Someone will want your table on a weekend morning.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tireddriver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A New Star Breakfast Location”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This restaurant is the new replacement for the very tired one right around the corner. This is a refreshing new place (to me). Its menu is not deep-fried or grilled (except for the eggs). The service process is streamlined and I can see nothing to improve. You order and then sit down. A group of four behind me and ten groups behind the front of the line tried to "save" a table before they had ordered (in clear opposition to the posted rules). They were gently reminded to "all" wait in line until their order had at least been placed - then they can find a table. It worked perfectly, when they placed their order a table opened up - instead of "camping out" wasting the space. The Huevos Ranchero were superior as was the fruit parfait. The grits was equally spectacular. As you can see from my other reviews - I am not an easy grader. But, this place will become an even further hit... so, follow the seating guidelines because it is going to get crowded.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best breakfast in new Orleans”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is quality, the owner goes out of his way for you, a must taste restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelsaint80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unguidedmissal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A step up”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We enjoyed a quiet breakfast at this small place down at the end of St. Charles. You place your order at the walk-up counter and they bring the food to your table. The service was pleasant, friendly and helpful. The coffee was good but not exceptional. The breads (bagels, wheat toast) were quite a bit above average. The omelets were creatively designed and well executed. There are plenty of good grits and eggs places in NOLA but if you'd like something a bit different, a bit more genteel, this might be it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unguidedmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast! Fresh ingredients and you won't feel guilty eating the grits”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Their breakfast is absolutely divine. For breakfast food that is typically fried (eggs, bacon, sausage), it doesn't seem like because it is not greasy at all. I had the Petit Breakfast - 2 eggs, andouille sausage, sour dough toast and grits. The grits were delicious - creamy and tasty. I looked around and noticed almost everyone ordered the grits. That's a great sign on how good they are. My friends ordered Breakfast Burrito (see pic), pankcakes and waffles. Each dish looked like such care was taken to cook the food and present it. My food cost about $15 (petit breakfast, pomegranate juice, coffee), which I think was a great value, especially for my tastebuds and stomach.

Things to consider: Try to get there early so you can get a table as the line builds up pretty quickly. We were lucky for a group of 7 and the employees were so helpful in organizing tables for us. The vibe of this place is you feel like your home and the people that work there are so friendly!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LM1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Refuel Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Refuel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing