We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as expected”
Review of Shaya

Shaya
Reserve a Table
2
Today
8:00 PM
Ranked #6 of 2,219 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Touro
Description: Shaya restaurant marries Israeli staples with Southern flavors and modern techniques, striking a balance between innovation and tradition. Shaya approaches Israeli cuisine as a grand mosaic, drawing influence and inspiration from North Africa, the Middle East, Eastern Europe, Turkey and Greece. The contemporary menu reflects the ongoing evolution of Israeli food and celebrates the abundance of Louisiana. Shaya highlights seasonal, responsibly- and locally-sourced ingredients. The wood-fire oven is central to both the menu and the dining experience, from the incredible homemade, wood-fired pita to vegetable-centric small plates and heartier entrees. Many of the dishes on the diverse menu are meant to be shared and enjoyed throughout many courses.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Great food, great service, healthy choices in New Orleans -- wonderful flavors... only weakness may have been dessert but still worthy of 5 stars.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank travelsavvily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler827204, Manager at Shaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the five star review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. We hope you'll return soon, and don't forget- we offer happy hour with half off hummus and wines by the glass M-F from 3:00-6:00pm.

Best,
Roger Eyles
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2019

My husband and I sat on the back patio on a lovely, warm evening. The waiter was extremely helpful in pointing out the vegan options on the menu. Everything we ordered on the menu was delicious. This was a memorable dinner - service, atmosphere and food, and we will certainly return if/when we return to New Orleans.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank avidwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler827204, Manager at Shaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting Shaya recently. We're glad that you got to enjoy the beautiful patio weather. We look forward to having you in again at your next visit to New Orleans.

Best,
Roger Eyles
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

In all of the restaraunts, we eat at in N.O. this was the best went for lunch dinner is impossible to get a reservation but not touristy not fried just very well prepared food. The service was very good, in fact, this is the first I had a Stanford grad as a food server.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 621Georg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler827204, Manager at Shaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words! We're honored that you count us among the best and appreciate your patronage. We look forward to having you in at your next trip to New Orleans.

Best,
Roger Eyles
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Lots of great choices. Baked pitas and hummus..best in city. Great atmosphere, service and food. Prime area for shopping and strolling after.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Z529XLrossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler827204, Manager at Shaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Shaya recently. We're glad you enjoyed the food and service and got to see New Orlean's beautiful Magazine Street.

All the best,

Roger Eyles
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We had never had Israeli food, so we didn't know what to expect. We tried one of the hummus dishes, the baba ganoush, and the fried cauliflower. We couldn't stop eating the food! It was addictive. The pita bread was hot and fresh, and everything was delicious.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mmb198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler827204, Manager at Shaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed everything. We're always adding to and updating our menu and we hope you'll return soon to try something new.

Best,
Roger Eyles
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaya also viewed

 

Been to Shaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing