We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #103 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just returned from New Orleans...3 night stay at Hotel Royal. The location,one block from Bourbon and walking distance to the market, Decatur St. and numerour bars and restaurants makes it ideal. The room was great with a comfy bed, large bathroon and very clean. Cute little centre courtyard with tables and fountain to sit outside and enjoy breakfast. The breakfast was ok...cereals, partries, fruit(oranges and apples), yogurt and granola as well as tea and coffee. All staff were very friendly and helpul. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if possible...many stairs up to higher level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steelersfan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    131
    68
    27
    30
See reviews for
36
269
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I were booked to stay at this hotel for the beginning of our honeymoon. We were a day late coming into New Orleans after having a cancelled flight out of DC. Tired and grumpy we arrived to an incredibly warm and helpful staff. Family had called to upgrade our room for a night at the end of our stay, but we were given the upgraded room for our entire 3-night stay, with a balcony and a bottle of champagne. The hotel is in a great location, and is very clean and quiet with a charming courtyard and modern rooms. On our last day it rained, and the front desk gave us an umbrella when he saw us leaving without one after breakfast. They also offered annotated maps of great restaurants and local favourite spots in the area. I can't say enough good things about this place. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great experience here! The hotel itself is beautiful and historical looking. The rooms were modern, clean and chic. Marble bathrooms, hardwood floors... The staff are fantastic - especially Eric and Ariana who were so helpful. Not an unfriendly person in the place! Our friends got the Royal Suite which was spacious and elegant with the large outdoor patio - sadly they only had one left so we took a regular? room since we could all just go wherever - but that suite was AMAZING and we definitely made use of the patio for some pre evening drinks and socializing! Our room was of normal size and spaciousness. The only issue, our air conditioner did not work. They sent someone immediately but it would not start. They did find an alternate room right away and even came with room keys and to move our bags within 10 minutes without us even asking, but we chose to just keep what we had as otherwise it was quiet and perfect. That decision was not the greatest as we did get hot, but somehow in the middle of the night when I got up to see if maybe by some lucky chance the air conditioner would start working ... it actually did! Very good location to everything you want to see! We will be coming back to New Orleans, and when we do we will be staying here once again!

Room Tip: The Royal suite with the large wrap around patio!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was beyond perfect! The staff was beyond friendly and helpful, the rooms were beautiful and clean and the location couldn't of been any better, you could walk to almost anything or take a $20 cab ride to anything not close enough to walk too. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good time is NOLA!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laylward19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The Royal is situated one block away from bustling Bourbon, and 3 mins walk from Jackson Square. You're close to the action without being kept awake by street noises.

Rooms are of varying sizes, but all modern, with a/c, ceiling fan and flat screen TV. En suites are fairly fresh. Staff is smiling, helpful and non-intrusive. A small breakfast is serced in the tiny reception area.

Overall very good value

Helpful?
1 Thank Anders0267
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JessicaK43
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Royal for his birthday recently. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The hotel is located in the perfect section of the French Quarter - just a few blocks from Jackson Square, the French Market, and the party on Bourbon Street, but with the added bonus of being in a slightly quieter location and a quick walk to the hip Fauborg-Marigny neighborhood and great music. Service was impeccable - helpful, personable - and they even upgraded our room since it was a special occasion. And what a room - stylishly minimal, modern, extremely comfortable bed, and a balcony with a great view of the action. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: Well worth it to get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I booked the room last minute for one night. The staff is great! If you are looking for a great New Orleans feel this is the place. Great location! Parking was full but we were able to leave our car out front only because we got in late and were leaving early.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angelface3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#117 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#100 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: 1006 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2704 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing