We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect location, nice rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #103 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The Royal is situated one block away from bustling Bourbon, and 3 mins walk from Jackson Square. You're close to the action without being kept awake by street noises.

Rooms are of varying sizes, but all modern, with a/c, ceiling fan and flat screen TV. En suites are fairly fresh. Staff is smiling, helpful and non-intrusive. A small breakfast is serced in the tiny reception area.

Overall very good value

Helpful?
1 Thank Anders0267
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    131
    68
    27
    30
See reviews for
36
269
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JessicaK43
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Royal for his birthday recently. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The hotel is located in the perfect section of the French Quarter - just a few blocks from Jackson Square, the French Market, and the party on Bourbon Street, but with the added bonus of being in a slightly quieter location and a quick walk to the hip Fauborg-Marigny neighborhood and great music. Service was impeccable - helpful, personable - and they even upgraded our room since it was a special occasion. And what a room - stylishly minimal, modern, extremely comfortable bed, and a balcony with a great view of the action. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: Well worth it to get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I booked the room last minute for one night. The staff is great! If you are looking for a great New Orleans feel this is the place. Great location! Parking was full but we were able to leave our car out front only because we got in late and were leaving early.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angelface3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a great hotel, all staff was very helpful. Wyatt and Donald were excellent in customer service
gave us excellent dining choices and other helpful hints. The room on the other hand is very small not enough room for anyone let alone a family of three. I would recommend this hotel. One block from Bourbon St.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 5 nights. The associates were very friendly and everything was fresh and clean. I just can't stress how small the lowest priced rooms are. Literally, there is the bed and about 1 foot on each side to walk. The TV sits on a built in table/mini closet. We had to put our large bag up on this and had a hard time seeing the TV. There is truly nowhere to put anything!The bathroom is nice but, again, nowhere to put anything. If you can afford it, make sure you upgrade for anything longer than 1 night. We decided to stick it out and it was fine. Also, since this is an old building without a lift, it was quite the adventure finding our room. It was up a flight of stairs, across the walkway, through a few different small doors...you get the picture - like a maze. If you are older or have any issues walking, make sure you get a ground floor room. I would stay here again if I could afford to book a large room. If not, then no.

Room Tip: The lowest priced rooms are very tiny. Upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Donald and associates went above and beyond to make us comfortable- incredibly impressed and will stay here again in a heart beat. AC went out in our room so they gave us an automatic upgrade, no questions asked. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbonaventure2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a room here for 1 night. So close to bourbon street with a safe walk. Nice staff, very helpful. Beautiful old building. Our deluxe room was up on the top floor, there was about 3 inches of space under the door because the floor was tilted. The door also didn't lock from the inside. There was a crawl space utility closet in this room that should have been locked but the door was wide open to it and wouldn't shut. Sheets weren't totally clean. Worst part- there was a cock roach in our room that crawled up through a hole in the floor. Thankfully they gave us a new room, and upgraded us to a balcony suite even though it was midnight. Very accommodating staff beautiful place just got bad luck on the first room !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allegra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#114 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#117 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#101 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: 1006 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2704 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing