We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service!”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing customer service!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Donald and associates went above and beyond to make us comfortable- incredibly impressed and will stay here again in a heart beat. AC went out in our room so they gave us an automatic upgrade, no questions asked. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbonaventure2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    160
    83
    35
    39
See reviews for
50
348
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a room here for 1 night. So close to bourbon street with a safe walk. Nice staff, very helpful. Beautiful old building. Our deluxe room was up on the top floor, there was about 3 inches of space under the door because the floor was tilted. The door also didn't lock from the inside. There was a crawl space utility closet in this room that should have been locked but the door was wide open to it and wouldn't shut. Sheets weren't totally clean. Worst part- there was a cock roach in our room that crawled up through a hole in the floor. Thankfully they gave us a new room, and upgraded us to a balcony suite even though it was midnight. Very accommodating staff beautiful place just got bad luck on the first room !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allegra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed her June 20-22. A whole weekend in the city! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in one if the balcony suites on the 3rd floor. It was perfect! It took me a little while to get the jacuzzi tub working. I would have to press the button a few times before it really started blowing. But once I got it to work, it was amazing on my sore muscles from walking all day. Eric has to be the most helpful staff person! He told us about a parking spot right infront if the hotel, so that meant we had free parking all weekend! And he also gave me a bucket to carry ice upstairs instead of me using the tiny ice bucket. Overall, our stay was wonderful! We'll definitely stay again! It's in the perfect location! Right in the middle if everything! I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyDeroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Charming Historic Hotel on antique shop lined Royal street and just two blocks off Jackson Square. This was our third stay here in as many years and once again the staff made the stay special. Helped with locating and suggesting truly local New Orleans spots. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: They have smaller more economical rooms on the rear section but we prefer the balcony rooms along Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJantsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hey the hotel is beautiful and recently renovated, but the rooms are minuscule, some even without windows, Our room was so small we had to stand our luggage in the hall for the whole three days we were there, imagine having to get your luggage out when ever out whenever you wanted something from a bag, there was nowhere to put anything. The hotel also has no lift, so in a building of this age where there is so many levels, I hope you love stairs and lots of them. Having said this the staff were great and will still managed to enjoy the experience. (P.S. they will tell you that a standard bed is a Queen size, don't believe them.)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room but be prepare to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Beautiful old hotel recently renovated. The hotel is situated parallell to Bourbon street and on the quiet side. Nice and clean rooms, meager breakfast. A lot of stairs if you are accommodated on the third floor. Good prices. There is a parking lot on the back of the hotel which you can use in exchange for a daily rate. It is however quite hard to find as it is located close to a irish pub. It could be worth a while to try to find other parking, but according to my experience there are few close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Good price for the location. You can be anywhere in a matter of minutes. Just remember, you get what you pay for. Lite on amenities and parking. The staff is great. Deluxe rooms are small but quaint. Will most likely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 163 in New Orleans
823 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#117 of 163 in New Orleans
316 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#59 of 163 in New Orleans
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 163 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
427 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Villa Convento
Hotel Villa Convento
#94 of 163 in New Orleans
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: 1006 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2704 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios. Coffee and Tea are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing