We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My new favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Street Courtyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Street Courtyard
Ranked #20 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My new favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I travel to New Orleans a lot, for business and pleasure, over the past 30 years. I've stayed in hotels, B&B's, sublets... but this is the best place I've ever temporarily called home in the Big Easy. The location is perfect! Close enough to everything important that you can easily walk, bike, or take the streetcar anywhere you'll want to go. The house is beautiful... real old New Orleans style. The rooms are lovely and large, the beds comfortable, the house feline welcoming yet dignified, and your hosts are friendly, fun, knowledgeable and as hands-off (or on) as you want them to be. I left feeling like I'd made two new friends. Royal Street Courtyard is fabulous value for your money, and a taste of real New Orleans living (although in a lovelier setting than many real New Orleanians can afford). The neighborhood is beautiful, historic and safe. Can't think of a single reason NOT to stay here if you're visiting New Orleans for any reason. I will be recommending this place exclusively from now on!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have en-suite bathrooms, and some do not. Even if your bathroom is down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    30
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
241
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Chenier, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast and it certainly won't be our last! My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon. I picked this place because the reviews were great and it wasn't outrageously priced like many of the hotels, caused by the Saints vs Dallas game that weekend. When we arrived we were welcomed by Mr. Phillip who happens to be a wonderful host. He gave us an informative tour of the house and provided us with maps that included his suggestions on places to visit and dine. He also showed Chris how to work the hot tub, who happens to be the hot tub fanatic out of the two of us. We stayed in the spacious room # 10 which included beautiful antique furniture, and a nice balcony. The location of the house was great, since maneuvering a 3/4 ton truck around the French Quarter was out of the question we walked everywhere and made use of the trolley system.

Room Tip: room 10 is very spacious and has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This B&B is located in a very quaint, quiet, safe and really neat neighborhood. It is perfectly nestled just close enough to the Conference Center and French Quarter yet far enough to escape the hustle and bustle New Orleans has to offer. The front porch radiates the perfect southern flair and peacefulness to have friendly conversations with other guests and most of all the owners David and Philip. Dave and Phillip are true hosts in every sense and really give the flair and character that sets this B&B head and shoulders above others. The B&B is a true New Orleans architecture built in the 1850's. I can't imagine staying anywhere else and will absolutely be returning int he future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this B&B for 3 days. Wanting to get away from the craziness of Bourbon Street but still close to everything was our goal and this was definately accomplished. We can't say enough about the hospitality that we received from the innkeepers, Phillip and David. They are a wealth of knowledge about their wonderful city, from recommending great restaurants, things to do, even a detailed map so that we could get around very easily (which we did...walking everywhere), to the history of New Orleans and why this is a great city to visit. We especially enjoyed walking around their neighborhood. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and special! We highly recommend this historic B&B as a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in a large room with a bathroom attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondie02314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
389 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was our first booked bed & breakfast and we had a great time. Thanks a lot Phillip and David for your perfect and warm hospitality. Starting with a warm introduction in New Orleans times, histories and places, food and drinks and sweets, followed by a personal detailed map, very helpful! Crowned with nice rooms and a good breakfast in the morning, and the cat. We had a great time and did a lot of the recommandations. Great. Come to NOLA, New Orleans Louisiana, enjoy the city and have interesting talks with Phillip and David. A great place to be, sitting on the porch...................... and life in New Orleans will go on. You don´t need the car, you can explore the city by foot, ship and street car.
Unbelievable, free parking around the house, I forgot and, possibility of using the nice hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloedinschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Street Courtyard Oct. 10-13th and had a wonderful time. I can't say enough about Phillip. He is very tuned in to his guests and goes above and beyond to insure they enjoy their stay. He spends about 20 minutes upon arrival getting you briefed on what is happening in New Orleans and how to get there and back. The Band B is located close to Frenchman St. and many coffee shops, bakery, and restaurants. Many within a block or two. I will always return to Royal Street Courtyard during any future trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Footnotes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love staying in the Marigny and the Royal Street Courtyard is in the heart of this fine neighborhood. My daughter and I shared a room at the top of a tall stairway and we couldn't have been happier. Frenchman Street is an easy walk around the block. The Q - a few blocks farther. We rented bikes and road about three blocks to a fantastic yoga class with Sean Johnson at Wild Lotus (downtown). All of this activity and it felt good to come home to Phillip's B&B where we felt like welcome guests. Phillip does know lots of hot spots, so you won't go wrong following his advice. All the coffee shops and breakfast restaurants nearby are delicious, many have wi-fi. Grab a piece of fresh fruit (from the kitchen) and explore.

As for the accommodations - at first touch I was afraid the bed was too soft. Not so! We slept soundly and comfortably. The bathroom (claw-foot tub) had a soft flow shower head that was very nice. Bring your own toiletries if you like fancy stuff. And, throw in a fluffy terry cloth robe as the towels are on the thin side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank burner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#25 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Street Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Street Courtyard

Property: Royal Street Courtyard
Address: 2438 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7811
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Royal Street Courtyard Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing