We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Street Courtyard
Ranked #33 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great guys, great rooms, great service, prices are terrific and you have the benefit of being in a nice quiet area just a few minute's walk from the French quarter and the music venues on Frenchman's St. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AinsleyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just returned from our Texas, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Louisiana adventure.
Without a doubt the best part was staying at the Royal Street Courtyard B&B. What made it extra special is visiting all the places that Phillip recommended. We thought we knew New Orleans and realized how little we actually know about the true city after this stay. Some of the best meals, entertainment and shopping were recommendations from Phillip. We will never stay anywhere else when visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we chose a second floor room with a balcony so we could watch the world go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeraFromSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This B&B is just a short walk to all the action of the French Quarter, but is itself in a beautiful and quiet neighbourhood. You can spend your morning sitting in a porch rocker, and then head into the craziness of Bourbon St. in 5 minutes. The proprietors are warm and helpful, full of info and an obvious love for the city. The house and rooms are stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Traveling to the great city of New Orleans? Your lodging is your easiest decision. Go to Royal St. Courtyard B & B. This is THE place to stay. The restored 1850's house has retained its original charm while having all the modern amenities. There's a generous continental breakfast, a guest computer, microwave, a hot tub in back, and a large front porch with rockers. It is located in a quiet residential area of the Faubourg Marigny, a charming neighborhood, and within walking distance of the French Quarter, Frenchman St., and many eateries. But the best reason to stay here is your hosts. Phillip and David are the nicest people you'll meet - friendly, welcoming people who go out of their way to accommodate their guests. They are there with a smile, a kind word, and recommendations. They love what they do and enjoy visiting with guests. They have hospitality down to an art. I have stayed here several times going back 5 years. This is not just a place to stay - here you feel like a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed there for five nights. Our hosts were very welcoming, friendly, and made us feel right at home. The property has a rich history. The rooms were interesting and very clean. The house, courtyard, and porches were amazing. We loved sitting in the rockers on the porch with our morning coffee and in the evening with a glass of wine. The neighborhood was so interesting and a delight to walk around in. We could easily walk to the attractions in the French Quarter. Phillip had a map ready for us and explained local attractions, restaurants, coffee shops, jazz clubs, and bars that he recommended. The restaurants and jazz venues that Phillip recommended were excellent. There was even bug spray and sunscreen by the door for us to use. They thought of everything we could possibly want. I miss the wonderful blend of coffee I had every morning. It was so good. All of our experiences were positive. We would definitely recommend this inn to others. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I would rate a 4.5. The Faubourg Marigny neighborhood is a great location to stay in New Orleans- close enough to the action in the French Quarter and also to Frenchmen Street, but far enough away to be quiet, and to experience a real neighborhood. Philip was very welcoming- even as early as my first call with him several months before we arrived. He was very genuine and friendly, and made me look very forward to the visit. We arrived late, so he let us know how to obtain the keys for our room. We were on the second floor; next time, if there's availability (which there wasn't this time), I'd try for one of the rooms with the balconies. The breakfast room provided lots of options for a light breakfast before heading off to other locales. We didn't think of trying breakfast restaurants(as it was a B&B), but were encouraged to do so by Philip. We very much enjoyed the local Cake Cafe, and many of the other recommendations that he graciously wrote down for us on a New Orleans map. His restaurant recommendations were very very helpful, and we enjoyed the restaurants he suggested. David provided some New Orleans history, which was very interesting. We also enjoyed the backyard, with the jacuzzi. It was nice to have 2 separate rooms in our habitation- sitting room and bedroom. The mattress could have used replacing, and it would be great to have a larger bed than the double bed provided. Fantastic location, hosts, and neighborhood. A very noisy train goes by(at some distance, but the sound carries) in the middle of the night a couple of times every night, but there's obviously nothing the B&B can do about that. I would stay at Royal Street Courtyard again on another visit to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Amazing does not even begin to describe our stay in the Royal Street Courtyard! My friend and I were driving from Florida, and even though we arrived later in the evening Phillip made sure everything was perfect for our arrival. The B&B itself is gorgeous, comfortable, clean and perfectly situated. The neighborhood is beautiful, quiet, and has lots of free street parking. It is only a quick 10 minute walk into the heart of the French Quarter however! Phillip's suggestions for food are spot on, and he makes himself very available to answer all your questions about the area (he has more knowledge than a veteran tour guide!). If you are going to be traveling to New Orleans, there is no better place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#42 of 142 in New Orleans
235 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 142 in New Orleans
468 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#12 of 142 in New Orleans
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#37 of 142 in New Orleans
280 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 142 in New Orleans
178 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Street Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Street Courtyard

Address: 2438 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70117-7811
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $79 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're greeted with stately columns and regal galleries. Inside, the charm of antebellum New Orleans surrounds you. This grand Greek Revival house of the 1850's exudes both the elegance and decadence of old Creole Louisiana. With soaring 14-foot ceilings and intricate, hand-crafted cypress trim, your room is a respite from the bustle of the street. Some feature 4-poster king beds, others queen and full sized beds. All have private baths. An intimate courtyard invites you to relax in our soothing spa surrounded by tropical greenery and yet you're close to the action. Just six blocks from the French Quarter, a 15 minute stroll to the non-stop energy of Bourbon Street. Fine restaurants, famous jazz clubs and sidewalk cafes are literally a short walk from our front door. Royal Street Courtyard, where you're at home in New Orleans.… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Street Courtyard Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing