We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You would have to be bonkers to stay anywhere else!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Street Courtyard
Ranked #25 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You would have to be bonkers to stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have never met more fantastic, gracious, helpful and friendly hosts (and people) than Phillip and David. From the time we arrived, we were greeted with a map highlighted with restaurants and points of interest, Phillip took his time explaining everything we would want to know (I saw him do this with all the other guests, you are really taken care of) We were showed our room, which was beautiful, immaculately clean, very comfortable bed. We had a balcony room, which you access thru charming very tall sliding window. But don't neglect the front porch! Its a great place to relax and hang with the hosts and other guests, there are also overhead fans on the porch which create a nice breeze. There is a beautiful courtyard with a hot tub, which we didn't utilize because we spent all our time near Frenchman street! The location of the Royal Street Courtyard is perfect ,we loved the Marigny neighborhood. It is only a 10 min walk to the quarter, but we liked this neighborhood so much! All of the recommendations were spot on. We love places with soul and character, and that is what we got. We spent alot of time at the Apple Barrel Bar and the Spotted Cat. We ate at Cake Cafe, Schiros, Praline Connection, Coops Place and Adolfos (mmmmm) and all were perfect. We WILL be back no matter what, the people of New Orleans are some of the most beautiful people I've met. This place exemplified this.Thanks from Liz and Marty

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    31
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
244
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just returned from another wonderful 8 nights at the Royal Street Courtyard. This inn is filled with the charm of an old plantation. We spent hours sitting on the front porch with cofffee or drinks (depending on the time of day) in the rocking chairs talking to David and Phillip (owners) as well as the neighbors.

The Royal Street courtyard is conveniently located within walking distance to Frenchman Street and the French Quarter, but is away from the crowds and noise. There are many places to eat within a few blocks as well as bars. We parked the car on the street in front of the home, so no hassles trying to find a place to park or paying high parking prices.

We highly recommend you give it a try when in New Orleans. You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim&Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Overall, I would highly recommend Royal Street Courtyard. I normally like a B&B to have a great breakfast, but we decided to stay here knowing that it was more of a continental breakfast because there seemed to be so many great places to eat. The worst thing was having to wait until 8:30 to get a cup of coffee. The coffee they served was excellent! We definitely saved our money and made a great decision to stay here. Also, with the hot humid weather, a heavy breakfast would have been a bad choice if we chose to stay at another B&B.

The location is an easy walk to the French Quarter and an even closer walk to Frenchman Street – the place to go for live music every evening!!

Phillip, one of the owners, gave excellent advice and suggestions on dining and things to do. We also felt very safe and comfortable in this location. If anyone commented on concerns about safety, that person must not be used to visiting/traveling in a city. We never felt threatened or fearful walking during the day or late at night.

The room itself was a bit tattered, but very clean and well kept. We felt very comfortable. These were very little things that were hard to complain about and when we commented on any concerns, Phillip and David were very quick to respond. The light was fixed and the mirror in the room lowered. I don’t think even a major hotel could respond the way they did!

This B&B is a definite recommend. Save your money and go here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdgeStrategic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I've never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, and honestly before this I'd never considered it. Someone recommended Royal Street to us and after much consideration we decided to give it a try. I'm happy we did. Philip greeted us at the door and once we settled in he gave us an 'orientation' to the house and city. The house is absolutely beautiful and rich with history, something that you can rarely get with one of those chain hotels. After showing us around he pulled out one of those tourist's maps of the city, only he had drawn on this one. He marked the locations of what I can honestly say is some of the best food I've eaten in my life. Some of these restaurants were off the typical path, and some just blended into the hustle of the streets. He also pointed us to some of the best bars and gave us pointers on how to get around, what areas to avoid, and how to interact with some of the local flavor. He truly gave us an insider view of the city that you would expect when visiting a long time friend. He made this trip so much more than we ever expected. The house is a short walk away from the action, but the surrounding neighborhood is worth seeing in itself. We will undoubtedly stay here next time we visit the city, and now it's my mission to find a Philip and David in every city!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the moment we arrived, Phillip made us feel right at home - he even gave us Airborne because my wife and I were under the weather!

We loved the house and the breakfast was just right. It was a really convenient for the French Quarter and Frenchmen. Phillip gave us great advice about where to go in NO and gave us a map on which he wrote lots of tips - this came in so handy. We followed lots of Phillip's recommendations for food and other things and all his tips were spot on!

Thanks for a great time in NO :o)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteH1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have been to the Royal Street Courtyard B&B now two years in a row, and we are planning another trip for 2013 already. This place is the only place one should stay because your hosts, Phillip and David, ensure that every aspect of your trip is delightful. Phillip is an expert on New Orleans, and upon arrival, we received an awesome tutorial with the help of a guest map of all that the city has to offer. Additionally, Phillip consistently demonstrates that he has excellent taste in food and knows where one should go for every occasion. The rooms are spacious, cozy, and quaint with all the amenities one might need. The beds and pristine sheets are extremely comfortable (especially in room 10 with its balcony that overlooks the street) while the jacuzzi is relaxing and hot. Continental breakfast is served, and we usually partake of a cup of coffee and a seat in the back courtyard. The map that Phillip gave us was utilized every day in every shape and form. The location is ideal since it is in the Marigny, which is outside of the Quarter, but within in reasonable walking distance to everything, so it is not loud or filled with revelers still looking for a party on Bourbon Street. The area is safe, comfortable, and very Southern as well as down the street from coffee houses and the Cake Cafe. The experience from start to finish is amazing, and we long to return the moment we leave. Our hosts made it so ideal for rest and relaxation, and we are now very loyal patrons.

Room Tip: Ask Phillip where to go if you are looking for something. He loves to suggest things and talk to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Philip and David are the kindest hosts! I came for a conference and was so glad I stayed there and not closer to the convention center - staying at Royal Street really helped make the evenings feel more like the vacation I wanted. Their recommendations on places to go, things to see, what to eat and where, are all spot on. The property is lovely, location is quietly out-of-the-way and yet totally convenient, the breakfast is delicious and social/informative without being overwhelming. The place is great and also truly good value for your money. When I next go to New Orleans I know where I'd prefer to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#45 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
The New Orleans Jazz Quarters
#22 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#7 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Street Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Street Courtyard

Property: Royal Street Courtyard
Address: 2438 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70117-7811
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Royal Street Courtyard Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing