We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How does one say awesome in Creole?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Street Courtyard
Ranked #40 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have been to the Royal Street Courtyard B&B now two years in a row, and we are planning another trip for 2013 already. This place is the only place one should stay because your hosts, Phillip and David, ensure that every aspect of your trip is delightful. Phillip is an expert on New Orleans, and upon arrival, we received an awesome tutorial with the help of a guest map of all that the city has to offer. Additionally, Phillip consistently demonstrates that he has excellent taste in food and knows where one should go for every occasion. The rooms are spacious, cozy, and quaint with all the amenities one might need. The beds and pristine sheets are extremely comfortable (especially in room 10 with its balcony that overlooks the street) while the jacuzzi is relaxing and hot. Continental breakfast is served, and we usually partake of a cup of coffee and a seat in the back courtyard. The map that Phillip gave us was utilized every day in every shape and form. The location is ideal since it is in the Marigny, which is outside of the Quarter, but within in reasonable walking distance to everything, so it is not loud or filled with revelers still looking for a party on Bourbon Street. The area is safe, comfortable, and very Southern as well as down the street from coffee houses and the Cake Cafe. The experience from start to finish is amazing, and we long to return the moment we leave. Our hosts made it so ideal for rest and relaxation, and we are now very loyal patrons.

Room Tip: Ask Phillip where to go if you are looking for something. He loves to suggest things and talk to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 435 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Philip and David are the kindest hosts! I came for a conference and was so glad I stayed there and not closer to the convention center - staying at Royal Street really helped make the evenings feel more like the vacation I wanted. Their recommendations on places to go, things to see, what to eat and where, are all spot on. The property is lovely, location is quietly out-of-the-way and yet totally convenient, the breakfast is delicious and social/informative without being overwhelming. The place is great and also truly good value for your money. When I next go to New Orleans I know where I'd prefer to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Phillip and David are phenomenal. You are welcomed to the Royal St. Courtyard the moment you arrive. Recommendations on things do, places to see, eateries are all to your specific tastes and spot on. The B&B itself is a beautiful well maintained southern style estate house and an easy walking distance to the French Quarter (or more importantly Frenchmen st.). Everything is very clean and the breakfast spread beats any hotel's continental for sure, not only that but there's little snacks available all day. The hot tub is an added bonus to an already amazing place. When I first stayed there (this was my 2nd time) I thought that price-wise it was too good to be true, I have never been more happy to be wrong. I can't say enough about how much I love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonoHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We are an Australian couple who stayed for six days at Royal St Courtyard. First thing we'd like to say is that the host Phillip was amazing. Phillip made a huge effort to ensure all of the guests had a fantastic stay. He had great advice on music and dinner, and even loaned us umbrellas when the afternoon storms threatened. The building itself was beautiful, we stayed in a large room with a private bathroom and a shared balcony which was perfect for a week long stay. The location is a short walk from the French Quarter but the Marigny is a great spot so don't let that put you off. I can't recommend Royal St highly enough, it is an outstanding place to stay in New Orleans.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Trusting the reviews on this website my wife booked a stay for us at the Royal Street Courtyard and we were not disappointed. Phillip and David were EXCELLENT hosts! Phillip was full of great suggestions and he was happy to let his pick his brain for ideas and directions.

The location is great and it's a 15 minute walk to the French Quarter. There are also awesome jazz clubs, bars, and restaurants within a few minutes walk of the B&B. Our room was quiet, clean, and comfortable and the actual property was nice.

Since we left a week ago my wife has told me multiple times that she misses Phillip and she is anxious for us to go back and visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laliciago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our second time to stay in the Royal Street Courtyard Bed and Breakfast. The hospitality offered by David and Phillip was outstanding. The Bed and Breakfast is a few blocks outside the French Quarter in Marigny. The Neighborhood is friendly and offers a number of choices for food and drink. Parking was never a problem. We have stayed in the upstairs front and the downstairs rear; in both cases the rooms were extremely comfortable. I highly recommend the Royal Street Courtyard if you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast near the french quarter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashtonian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE this B and B!!!! Phillip and David are the best!!! Everything about this place is outstanding!!! Its clean, safe, comfy, private pricing is great as well!! The hot tub is an oasis in itself.
Would HIGHLY recommend. Its great for romantic getaways as well as families traveling. Cant say enough
about the place or David and Phillip.

Room Tip: Check the website for picture gallery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logansmom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Jean Lafitte House
Jean Lafitte House
#61 of 142 in New Orleans
41 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#13 of 142 in New Orleans
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Street Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Street Courtyard

Address: 2438 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7811
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $79 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're greeted with stately columns and regal galleries. Inside, the charm of antebellum New Orleans surrounds you. This grand Greek Revival house of the 1850's exudes both the elegance and decadence of old Creole Louisiana. With soaring 14-foot ceilings and intricate, hand-crafted cypress trim, your room is a respite from the bustle of the street. Some feature 4-poster king beds, others queen and full sized beds. All have private baths. An intimate courtyard invites you to relax in our soothing spa surrounded by tropical greenery and yet you're close to the action. Just six blocks from the French Quarter, a 15 minute stroll to the non-stop energy of Bourbon Street. Fine restaurants, famous jazz clubs and sidewalk cafes are literally a short walk from our front door. Royal Street Courtyard, where you're at home in New Orleans.… ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Street Courtyard Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing