We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of a lifetime trip to New Orleans & Maison Perrier”
Review of Maison Perrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison Perrier
Ranked #20 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We chose NO for the chance to experience the culture, history & architecture of this unique area. Finding the MP was a stroke of luck! In one location we found all of this and so much more. As you see in the other reviews; staff and owners were fabulous. By the 2nd day we felt as though we had been transported to a wealthy relative that was very happy to have us as their guests.
The rooms were spacious and delightful to be in; though we kept quite busy, we did have down time that we were happy to spend around this lovely home full of art, antiques & quiet nooks to visit in.
The wine & cheese social time was wonderful. We met many of the other guests and shared restaurant recommendations, music and favorite tour information. It was wonderful to meet people from other parts of the country.
We were assisted by Tom & Patricia with reservations for meals and any questions we asked, they were more than helpful. Their staff was equally friendly and being local had lots of information about where the local gathering places were.
We found the community to be very kind. From the streetcar operators, to wait staff & everyone between; New Orleans seemed pleased to see us and very helpful.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wishes to have a more personal and relaxed vacation.
As to the people who experienced less than they wanted; I would suggest that they have been more forth coming with any concerns. Any that we had were addressed immediately and with kindness. Courtesy is returned when given & I'm sure there are visitors who wish a less intrusive stay and for the staff that could be difficult to gauge.
I cannot imagine that we would have nearly the time we did staying in a "chain" hotel, no matter their cost.
So as for cost and amenities; we could not have been more pleased. The Maison Perrier was all we had hoped for and more. We are sure to stay there in the future if we are fortunate enough to return to New Orleans.

Room Tip: For an early riser the Desiree is near the kitchen, but otherwise well appointed and roomy. The pea...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Maison Perrier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 366 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed at many B&Bs and the Maison Perrier is one of the best. I did not rate it 5 stars however for minor details not addressed by MP but addressed at 5 star locations - ie: Owner Tom and Patricia did not remember our names nor addressed us by name - house keeping was very good but not appointed with detail - OK so that seems picky but those are the details awarded to 5 star hotels not seen at M.P. BUT M.P. is very well appointed - great location if you want to be near N.O. proper but not in it - close to trolley - very good breakfast - large rooms - very polite staff - parking is somewhat of an issue for all N.O. so M.P. does it's best to deal with a tough situation (IE Parking) - very nice area (Garden District) - great for evening walks - very safe - etc, etc - I could go on but let me simply say - "It's worth the price" - stayed March 2014. Art from Tallahassee FL

Room Tip: Recommend second floor front rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Located extremely close to the garden district, the Tom and Patricia have created a bed & breakfast that truly welcomes visitors to New Orleans. From check in to check out, my wife and I were treated like family in this beautiful home. Tom was extremely helpful in recommending local restaurants and activities that show off the best of New Orleans. In addition, one of the living rooms has a library of restaurant menus and brochures for various tourism activities. The Charlotte room we stayed in was very spacious, comfortable and had a lot of natural light. A delicious hot breakfast was prepared each morning and options were available for vegetarians. There are snacks made for guest to enjoy throughout the day, such as cookies, brownies and king cake. The self serve bar in the living room was a delightful amenity with generously priced beverages. The location of this B&B was a couple of blocks away from the street car on St. Charles and walking distance to Magazine Street and the Garden District. There were many excellent restaurants located nearby and you could easily hop on the street car to go downtown. If I could give more stars to this B&B, I would. If you are looking for a home away from home feeling that is extremely close to the Garden District, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

There is a reason this place continues to get rave reviews. Located on a quiet street, just a block off the streetcar line, Maison Perrier is close to downtown/French Quarter, Tulane & Loyola. There are tons of nearby restaurants on Magazine Street, which are quieter and more authentic than the touristy places in the Quarter. The owners really care about the place, and you will see them throughout your stay. The rooms are all very different - call before booking and Tom will explain each one to you and help you pick out the right one for your stay. And breakfast was delicious - different hot meal each day, along with a nice selection of cereals, fruit, etc.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Traveler0124-0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Maison Perrier lived up to the expectations. It is spotlessly clean, both in the rooms and the common areas. We were in Jasmine's Room, which has a balcony overlooking Perrier Street, and the room and bathroom are spacious. The queen bed was quite comfortable, and the towels and bathrobes are soft and plush. Patricia and Tom are excellent hosts and gave us good suggestions for restaurants and clubs. Patricia even extended the wine and cheese hour for us when we arrived right at the tail end of it. They also arranged our cab ride back to the airport.

The B&B is located in the Touro neighborhood, a subdivision of the garden district/central city area which is full of older homes, many of them beautifully restored. There are several great restaurants within a mile or two, and we felt comfortable walking around at night. For us, it was perfect to be away from the noise of the French Quarter but close enough to get there by streetcar. Walgreens sells $3 day passes, a bargain, and I'd suggest getting passes for your stay and using the public transportation as much as possible. The only gripe we had is that the city was doing repairs to the tracks during our stay, so we had a much longer walk to the nearest stop, instead of the usual couple of blocks. But the owners have zero control over that. And, as much as we ate, the walking was probably very good for us.

Breakfast includes plenty of great coffee and fresh fruit, and the hot breakfasts were decent. The dining area is comfortable and arranged to encourage conversation. We very much appreciated that they left goodies like king cake and brownies out all day, along with a great selection of teas, perfect for late night snacks.

All in all, Maison Perrier was a delightful place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Carali_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent a few wonderful days in New Orleans. Maison Perrier was just perfect! Breakfast was delicious, and the rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. It is in the Garden District and close to shops on Magazine. Also several great restaurants are within walking distance. The only drawback was the construction section of streetcar, which meant we had to walk a bit or catch the connecting bus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I just stayed a week at the Maison Perrier on Perrier Street, New Orleans. Tom and Patricia are wonderful hosts, and the property is well taken care of. We selected this B&B based on Trip Advisor reviews, wanting a B&B away from the French Quarter and in the middle of the Garden District/Uptown area. It is a cheerful place with big windows. They have an honor bar with a nice selection of wine and beer on tap. Breakfasts are very good. I seriously do not think you can go wrong staying at the Maison Perrier. We would on our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Claudette's room, which is in the front on the first floor. Avoid this room if you...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 142 in New Orleans
672 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 142 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hubbard Mansion
#31 of 142 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 142 in New Orleans
171 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perrier

Address: 4117 Perrier St, New Orleans, LA 70115-3826
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $149 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perrier 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in "Uptown" 'Nawlins, this Victorian manse boasts elegance and style without sacrificing comfort and convenience. This National Registry of Historic Places B&B sits three blocks from St. Charles, is within walking distance of the Garden District, and is close to the French Quarter. Tastefully decorated with antiques and original artwork. Breakfast entrees include praline French toast, and Creole eggs with cheese grits. Spacious guestrooms, private bathrooms, voice-mail, WiFi internet access, and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maison Perrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Perrier Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing