We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They Treat You Like Family...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison de Macarty
Ranked #26 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They Treat You Like Family...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We cannot say enough positive things about Maison Macarty Bed and Breakfast. From our arrival, to our departure, we were treated like family. The house itself is beautifully decorated, and comfortable. Their menu is delicious and always a treat. The outside is a beautiful retreat from the rush of New Orleans. The house is within walking distance to the downtown area, but far enough away that you get the peace and quiet of a relaxing trip. It will always be our favorite place to stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks again for the review! Get back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
54
149
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Elegance beyond our imagination, the owners are very welcoming and treat us as though we are the only guests even though the are booked solid. I will never stay anywhere else in New Orleans as long as they have an empty room for me.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jvoncord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for another great visit! We always look forward to you staying with us. Also thanks for the Krispy Kremes! Sssshhhh... don't tell Chef Curtis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have visited Kurt and his crew on mulitple visits to New Orleans for brunch, drinks, dinner, etc. These guys are hospitality experts! The decor scream New Orleans, while avoiding the 'touristy' feeling. The Macarty has a quiet, relaxing bar/pool area, and the food is some of the best around. If you're looking for a spot that's off the beaten path in NOLA, then you should check out the Maison de Macarty!

Room Tip: Check out the bathroom/tub in the 'Red Room!'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
It's always fun when you come by to hang with us! Thanks for the review, and we look forward to seeing you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I got married here just over a year ago and I sincerely couldn't have asked for a better experience. Kurt and Warren were ultra-accommodating, Curtis the chef totally delivered, even the house-keeping staff were lovely. The venue is terrific, with a wonderful layout for both the ceremony and reception in addition to an outside bar and a beautiful pool. I went with an outside caterer and provided my own bar as we were on a budget, and I really appreciated the flexibility that Maison Macarty provided us with this option. I would highly recommend this as a wonderfully affordable option for a wedding, or any fun party for that matter. My friends and I joked that we would all come back for our 50th wedding anniversary when we'll be in our 80's, but I imagine I'll be back much sooner just to enjoy the impeccable southern hospitality and charm that Maison de Macarty provides. As a native New Orleanian, I look forward to staying here the next time I'm home visiting family and friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 with private balcony and highly rec this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the review! We hope this last year has been nothing but happiness! Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashille
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Why would anyone want to stay here? This is why..........GREAT LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF!, AMAZING BREAKFAST, OFF STREET PARKING, COMFY BEDS! PET FRIENDLY! POOL, RELAXING POOL.
OK, so you really need to stay here, book early and book often, love this place and the staff, Thank you Kurt, Curtis, & Warren. We will be back will see you in May

Anita & Steve

Room Tip: Ask For Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btownerNashille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are looking forward to May! We will do our best to keep the Ghosts away from your room, although we think you should give the Master Suite another try! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I were lucky to find this inviting, quiet, and relaxing B&B in July of 2012. Kurt is the best and most gracious host. We were made to feel at home as soon as we walked in the door. Our accommodations were great. We stayed in the upstairs front portion of the house. This room has a huge porch complete with swing. We loved spending time there watching the neighborhood come to life in the morning. The pool area is well maintained, lushly landscaped, and was the perfect refresher after exploring the various attractions NO has to offer. The refreshment the pool offers is only topped by the perfectly poured cocktails. Breakfast was never the same meal twice and always deliciously prepared from scratch. There are several restaurants with in a short walk and just a little farther away is the heart of the French Quarter. We highly recommend Maison de Macarty! We will be back.
Rick & Tim

Room Tip: We recommend the room with the front porch with swing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Husband! Don't you love saying that? Congratulations on that! We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our last stay at the B&B we arrived later in the evening, being a returning guest, Kurt knew exactly what my wife and I drank. He had a drink poured at our arrival. The outside bar is the perfect place to unwind. The next morning we were greeted by Chef Curtis' smiling face, a bottomless cup of coffee and a fantastic gourmet breakfast. When traveling to New Orleans, Maison de Macarty will continue to be our home away from home.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 4 different rooms now. It's hard to choose a favorite between room one with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We love it when you visit! That drink is always waiting for you! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#21 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#59 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Property: Maison de Macarty
Address: 3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing