We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in New Orleans”
Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison de Macarty
Ranked #26 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Great place to stay in New Orleans”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved staying in the Storyville Room for two nights and as Warren put it when he showed us the room, the red jacuzzi tub and bathroom really were the pièce de résistance! Breakfast was to die for delicious and the cookies and bar in the common areas were welcomed as well along with the beautiful backyard. We fell in love with the Bywater and nearby Marigny neighborhoods and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Ah yes, Room 6! What a fun Room. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
56
149
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We loved it here. The home is beautiful and cozy, the grounds are like a sanctuary, the bed was soooo comfortable and the food OUTSTANDING! The yard and pool area was a relaxing place to lounge after a long day of sightseeing. The owners have really put a lot of care into making this a beautiful and comfortable home-away-from-home. I have to give a special shout-out to the chef Curtis, who not only embraced "the vegans" with open arms, but went out of his way to serve us a breakfast that makes our mouths water just thinking about it. Homemade baked goods, hardy hot breakfasts, and he even made us cookies for the long trip home!! Plus, it was really nice having breakfast with such an easy person to talk to. I would highly recommend Maison de Macarty to anyone traveling to New Orleans....we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I couldn't agree more. Chef Curtis is bomb! Everyone is always trying to steal him away, but I know where the skeletons are hidden so he stays with me! I'm glad you were so well taken care of by him while I was away on vacation. I look forward to meeting you on future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

As former B&B owners we know the importance of a friendly host, comfortable and well appointed rooms, and amazing breakfasts. Maison de Macarty was all that and more. Kurtis the chef was so welcoming an charming! He made us feel welcome immediately! He has fresh baked cookies in the front parlor. There is a well stocked bar using the pay it forward method. Perfect for a cocktail when you arrive!

We stayed in the carriage house by the pool. It was a handsome well appointed room with a king size sliegh bed, two sitting chairs, and antique dresser. The bathroom was spacious. It had all the ammenities of a hotel room. The bed was super comfortable and had high quality sheets.

Our breakfast was truly delicious! Kurtis made yummy muffins. He said they were vegan but I could not tell. The coffee was delicous! Then he served fresh fruit. The main course was fresh salsa eggs with a dab of gaucamole, andouille sausage, and roasted potatoes!

Plus, if friendly neighborhood restaurants are your thing just four blocks away is The Joint. It serves up super tasty BBQ!

Thank you for a wonderful stay in the Big Easy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbai_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review. I'm sorry I didn't get to meet you, but I'm glad to know Chef Curtis was taking good care of our guests while I was on vacation! Hopefully, you'll return someday and I'll get to meet you. Chef Curtis enjoyed having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Location of Inn is fantastic - close to French Quarter but not in the hustle and bustle of all the drunks!

Kurt and Warren are fantastic hosts and Curtis is a wonderful chef! The inn has plenty of on street and off street parking on a quite street. There is a park located across the street that adds to the view off the front porch! Inn is decorated very nice and the rooms are very comfortable. The beds are great - slept like a baby.

We plan to come back later this year!

What a geat weekend. Thank you Warren and Kurt!

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge. We had #3 and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B & B on our first trip to New Orleans. Maison de Macarty located in the Bywater...perfect area and not too far at all from the Quarter. We hoofed it everywhere with virtually no problems....except maybe after one two many Hurricanes and then my internal compass malfunctioned...but all in all a wonderful experience! Kurt and Warren were fantastic hosts and were very warm and gracious. We had room #1 and it was quite spacious and lovely with a very comfy bed. Our hosts recommended places to eat and gave us several tips during our stay which were very helpful. It is very refreshing to stay somewhere and feel like you are home...so comfortable! and btw I am a vegetarian and Chef Curtis whipped me up a wonderful breakfast during our two day stay which was very good, and sincerely greatly appreciated. We would definitely like to come back....two days is not enough to explore this wonderful City! Thanks for the great time!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room # 1 with a King sized bed and quite spacious, with a private balcony that was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maelye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I'm glad you were able to find your way back after the hurricanes! Thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China/US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Maison de Macarty is a tasteful b&b with lots of interesting characters. The location is perfect as it stays out of the touristy area but with easy access to the French Quarter. Kurt and Curtis are super friendly and hospitable with being pushy or making you feel uncomfortable.

PS: Curtis' breakfast is one of the best morning meals I have had.

Room Tip: Room 6 is perfect if you travel solo. It has a lovely ambience and comes with an awesome bathroom th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manleyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! If you find yourself back in Nola, we will be here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here the first week in March. All of the hotels in the French Quarter and Garden District were booked for some sort of convention that week. We stumbled upon Maison de MaCarty in searching for more places to stay outside the main areas. This Bed and Breakfast is located in the Bywater area just east of the quarter, appx 2 miles out to be exact. It was fantastic! The house had so much charm! Kurt was a great host and greeted us every morning with fruit, coffee, and sweet treats! He also gave us great information about the surrounding area. It was close enough to walk to the quarter and the neighborhood, although on the outside may have seemed slightly sketchy, it definitely was not. We would absolutely love to stay here again on our next visit to New Orleans! Also, the breakfast by Chef Curtis was DELICIOUS, nothing like the average extended continental found at other hotels/B&B. Definitely something special going on here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the review! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
451 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#53 of 138 in New Orleans
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#24 of 138 in New Orleans
167 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Property: Maison de Macarty
Address: 3820 Burgundy St, New Orleans, LA 70117-5708
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing