We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Orleans Retreat!”
Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison de Macarty
Ranked #26 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Great New Orleans Retreat!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Location of Inn is fantastic - close to French Quarter but not in the hustle and bustle of all the drunks!

Kurt and Warren are fantastic hosts and Curtis is a wonderful chef! The inn has plenty of on street and off street parking on a quite street. There is a park located across the street that adds to the view off the front porch! Inn is decorated very nice and the rooms are very comfortable. The beds are great - slept like a baby.

We plan to come back later this year!

What a geat weekend. Thank you Warren and Kurt!

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge. We had #3 and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
56
149
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B & B on our first trip to New Orleans. Maison de Macarty located in the Bywater...perfect area and not too far at all from the Quarter. We hoofed it everywhere with virtually no problems....except maybe after one two many Hurricanes and then my internal compass malfunctioned...but all in all a wonderful experience! Kurt and Warren were fantastic hosts and were very warm and gracious. We had room #1 and it was quite spacious and lovely with a very comfy bed. Our hosts recommended places to eat and gave us several tips during our stay which were very helpful. It is very refreshing to stay somewhere and feel like you are home...so comfortable! and btw I am a vegetarian and Chef Curtis whipped me up a wonderful breakfast during our two day stay which was very good, and sincerely greatly appreciated. We would definitely like to come back....two days is not enough to explore this wonderful City! Thanks for the great time!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room # 1 with a King sized bed and quite spacious, with a private balcony that was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maelye57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I'm glad you were able to find your way back after the hurricanes! Thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China/US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Maison de Macarty is a tasteful b&b with lots of interesting characters. The location is perfect as it stays out of the touristy area but with easy access to the French Quarter. Kurt and Curtis are super friendly and hospitable with being pushy or making you feel uncomfortable.

PS: Curtis' breakfast is one of the best morning meals I have had.

Room Tip: Room 6 is perfect if you travel solo. It has a lovely ambience and comes with an awesome bathroom th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manleyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! If you find yourself back in Nola, we will be here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here the first week in March. All of the hotels in the French Quarter and Garden District were booked for some sort of convention that week. We stumbled upon Maison de MaCarty in searching for more places to stay outside the main areas. This Bed and Breakfast is located in the Bywater area just east of the quarter, appx 2 miles out to be exact. It was fantastic! The house had so much charm! Kurt was a great host and greeted us every morning with fruit, coffee, and sweet treats! He also gave us great information about the surrounding area. It was close enough to walk to the quarter and the neighborhood, although on the outside may have seemed slightly sketchy, it definitely was not. We would absolutely love to stay here again on our next visit to New Orleans! Also, the breakfast by Chef Curtis was DELICIOUS, nothing like the average extended continental found at other hotels/B&B. Definitely something special going on here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the review! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This review is via my wife Susan who attended a HIMSS conference in New Orleans in the 1st week of March 2013 with a co-worker who also stayed here.
You can believe all the other superlative reviews you might read for this warm and welcoming B&B. The owners Kurt and Warren couldn't be more gracious or accommodating. Though the free gourmet breakfasts prepared by Chef Curtis are scheduled to be served at 9 A.M., since we had to leave early for training sessions, we never left hungry. They just worked around our schedule with the best meals we had while in New Orleans (that included Emiril's and Sylvain).
Susan stayed in the "Pool Cottage" that was plenty roomy and welcoming.
A short 10 minute taxi ride to the French Quarter or the Convention Center, do yourself a favor and go see Kurt and Warren instead of staying closer to the action. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank largebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Tell Susan "Thank you!" Chef Curtis is thrilled to be compared to those fine restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was our first trip to Nola and we couldn't have asked for a better introduction. The restored house in the Bywater was well maintained with beautiful gardens surrounding the pool. We'd love to return in better weather when we could take full advantage of all the amenities. Kurt is the consummate host, very engaging with a wealth of knowledge about the area. Breakfasts were delish! Quite a few interesting restaurants in the neighborhood, loved Mariza.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cathym604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for the review! The pool is waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I searched and searched for places, and finally found this place. Our experience definitely met up to everything we read about the place.
The owners are very kind, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful. One of the best things about this place is that it's very close to where we wanted to be.
This was our first visit to New Orleans, and I already am thinking about when I should go back. I'm thinking some time in May :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byanka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm thrilled to hear your thinking about coming back! Hope to see you in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
451 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#53 of 138 in New Orleans
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#24 of 138 in New Orleans
167 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Property: Maison de Macarty
Address: 3820 Burgundy St, New Orleans, LA 70117-5708
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing