We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison de Macarty
Ranked #26 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“Just Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Maison de Macarty for my husband's 30th birthday and it was absolutely perfect! Kurt even helped us pull off the surprise (I had friends coming on the trip and my husband didn't know). The house is gorgeous, the food is delicious, and the entire staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Kurt and Warren do a fabulous job all around! I don't think we will ever stay in a chain hotel after this visit, Maison de Macarty will be our go to spot for all future NOLA trips!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for spending the birthday weekend with us! It was fun helping you celebrate. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
51
146
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I just got home from a short trip to New Orleans. We found Maison De Macarty though a TripAdvisor search and decided to give it a try. And I can honestly say that the reviews did not give it justice! I was blown away in every way possible.
The rooms were perfect. They were comfortable but with an old world feel that completely fit the overall aura of building. it was so beautiful and so well decorated. It gave off such a feeling of warmth and comfort that we immediately felt like we were at home.
They are excellently located with everything close. Walking to the French Quarter is easy. And there are tons of restaurants and sights in the immediate area. that are a short walk away.
The food...was....INCREDIBLE. I know it's only breakfast, but everything I ate was so ridiculously good. Whether it was the fresh muffins, the omelets, or even the toast it was uber delicious. BUT THE BACON. I might quite possibly sell my immortal soul for the Bacon. It was coated with brown sugar and Pecans and it was quite possible one on the most incredible things I have even eaten.
So the house and grounds were beautiful, the location was great and the food was insanely good, But what sets this place above the rest is the service. The service is absolutely amazing. I have never encountered people who were so genuinely excited to make our stay the best possible. I felt like everyone cared about us and wanted us to be safe and happy not only while we were at the location, but throughout our whole vacation.
I recommend this place to anyone and everyone! We originally spent one night outside the city and were going to come back and stay inside the French Quarter but after Staying here there was nowhere else. Thanks to Kurt and Curtis for making our trip so comfortable and enjoyable. You guys are the best!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
You guys were wicked amazing too! We had a great time having you stay with us and hope you will come back soon. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just had our second stay at the Maison Macarty and once again in surpassed expectations! It is the most friendly place imaginable, due largely to Kurt, Curtis and the rest.
Maison Macarty wants to be the best B&B in New Orleans; as far as we are concerned, it already is.
We live in Scotland but we fully intend to return!
Highly recommended

Richard & Linda

Room Tip: All rooms are very individual; just look at the website. You won't be disappointed, whatever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
The best compliment is a return visit! Thanks again. I look forward to your many returns. The tea you gave me was delicious! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Maison de Macarty for a wedding and it was wonderful! The house has such character and appeal. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The owners were so nice and always happy to help with any questions or concerns we had. The B and B is in a great location. The breakfast is delicious! We'll definitely be sending all of our family and friends here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p_and_e_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks for the review! Congrats your recent marriage too! I hope you enjoy life in London. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My family booked the entire Maison de Macarty for our wedding weekend and could not have been happier. We were able to use the house for a lovely gathering on Friday night and a brunch on Sunday morning. Kurt was incredibly flexible and accommodating. Our ceremony and reception site almost fell apart a week before the wedding and Kurt assured me it would be no problem to host the wedding at the B and B and offered to meet with our wedding coordinator at our convenience. Our out of town guests were blown away by the amazing tropical courtyard and graciousness of our hosts. We highly recommend the B and B for wedding parties and other get aways. We live in New Orleans and plan to staycation at the Maison for the comfortable room, pool, quiet neighborhood, and great company of Dr. Warren, Kurt, and Curtis. Our guests want to come back and stay with them too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We loved being able to host your events! Your family and friends are fantastic. We wish you the best for your life together and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights here recently, and everything about the B&B was wonderful. Kurt, the owner, and Curtis, the chef, both went out of their way to make us and the other guests feel right at home in New Orleans. Not only is the B&B gorgeous (the room was even nicer than the photos), and the breakfasts delicious, but there were so many other thoughtful touches as well! For example, the "honour bar," the list of local recommendations, and the never-empty dish of fresh baked goods! We also really enjoyed the outdoor terrasse/pool area, a calm oasis of plants and butterflies and comfy chairs that is exactly what you need after a big night out. Finally, the neighbourhood of Bywater is safe, super friendly, and full of great places to eat and drink. We are definitely coming back here soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are already looking forward to your return visit! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I spent 7 days at this great b&b in New Orleans.
Kurt, our host, was extremely pleasant and helpful.
Curtis, the breakfast chef, made a different delicious breakfast each morning. Always provided options of eggs and bacon/ham if the guest wanted something different.
The B&B provided fresh baked cookies throughout the day. Also, a nice touch was a self serve bar, which worked on the honour system. Nice if you wanted a cocktail to your room or the pool side.
The pool is well maintained and plenty of chairs/lounges for everyone.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
A gem.... although the B&B is not in the French Quarter, it is a 30 minute walk in a very pleasant neighbourhood and less than $10 by cab, including tip.

Room Tip: The large room (no. 1) on the second floor includes a balcony with a swing. The large cabin next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Marcel! We miss you already. I've started your book and I'm really enjoying the read. Thanks again for staying with us while you were in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Property: Maison de Macarty
Address: 3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing