We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find in Bywater district of New Orleans!”
Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison de Macarty
Ranked #28 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My partner and I recently took a trip to New Orleans and decided to try Maison de Macarty in New Orleans. It is located in Bywater, an area we didn't know anything about. The trip turned out to be wonderful. Maison is a gorgeous, high quality B&B with an incredible host and owner. Kurt went above and beyond in having our trip be great. Bywater is fantastic and we loved exploring it, and then had the refreshing pool at Maison with drinks waiting for us when we returned. The breakfasts chef Ashley prepared were delicious....day 2 she made artichoke souffles and HOMEMADE poptarts!! Incredible! I could go on and on about our visit. We loved it so much we are going back this weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was great and has a very nice bathroom and small balcony overlooking the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atldave214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

You guys were the BEST! Good luck with your future in Atlanta together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 316 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is what a B&B should be. Beautiful, fully restored New Orleans mansion with plush beds, tasteful but imaginative decor, complimentary chocolate chip cookies (great when you've just stumbled back from a few too many cocktails), and breakfasts to-die-for. My favorite was the praline bacon(!), and they even made me a greek omelette on the spot. We loved sitting on the front porch late at night - the streets are quiet, save for the occasional local walking or cycling past. The B&B itself was equally quiet - no noise issues at any point, even in the midst of Jazz Fest tourism. Bathrooms and rooms were very clean and neat. Kurt was kind enough to lend us two of his bikes so that we could explore the neighborhoods without the extra expense of renting them. He was chock full of recommendations on places to eat and visit, as well as places to avoid. All around, a very positive experience, and one I would recommend to anyone.

If you're having second thoughts about staying in the less busy Bywater district, rather than Fabourg Marigny or the Quarter, take my word for it: Bywater is the place to be. We made the mistake of going to New Orleans at the beginning of Jazz Fest (I love jazz, but not crowded fairgrounds) so the city was crazier than it would have been otherwise. Bywater became a haven of quietude, where you could take in all of the bright, beautiful architecture without the foot traffic. The streets are so empty you'd think it was a ghost town, but that makes it ideal for riding bikes, leisurely walks, and feeling like you have New Orleans all to yourself. Keep in mind that Bywater is "on the rise," so it's a perfect place to get a taste of cutting edge New Orleans without the other tourists. Most locals we ran into were shocked that we even knew Bywater existed, much less that we were staying there. You can easily walk (20 minutes) or ride bikes (5-10 minutes) to Fabourg Marigny/the Quarter. After seeing how crazy those two neighborhoods could get, I felt like we'd made the right choice by staying in a quiet neighborhood so we could have a 'haven' from the noisy tourists after a long night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightrecordings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had a good time while staying at maison. The owners were nice and accommodating. We started off in room 3 I believe and realized with our hundreds of bags lol with needed a bigger room.So Kurt gave us the pool cottage. The room was beautiful with a huge king size bed. Also at breakfast time Ashley catered to my boyfriend and he loved it. He's a pretty big guy so he asked for more and she cooked something right there on the spot. We really felt like family and not guest. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks to the staff, Kurt, Ashley, and Warren you guys were great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_sprowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thanks for the review! We love our chef here at Maison de Macarty! What better way to start the day?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I've stayed in many Inn's around the states and this is by far the highest quality. Every need is attended to and many unexpected ones. You feel at home, but without the relatives you dread to see. The food is an unexpected delight prepared by Ashleigh and your hosts Kurt and Warren are the best. Then there's Matt who's warmth and down home hospitality is what it's all about.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Awe! You're top notch. Thanks so much! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in March 2012...Loved that it was far enough away from all the noise, you could actually sleep at night, but close enough to take a cab, $7 anywhere close. Wonderful breakfast, we purposefully got up to eat then went back to bed. Great hospitality, anything we needed just ask. We felt safe as well, codes and keys to get in. Beautiful tropical backyard with deck and pool with attention to detail. Super clean and very comfortable. Very romantic trip and stay...Also used Mike's Livery Service to get car service from the airport and back he was great!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishybusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

You guys were awesome! Thanks so much for staying with us! Can't wait for your return trip. Happy fishing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

By far one of the best experiences from the moment I arrived until my departure that I've ever experienced when traveling. Kurt has a perfect balance of professionalism and personalization rarely seen these days. Immediately, I felt very comfortable not only in my exceptionally clean room, but also in the common areas of the property. I really enjoyed "hanging out" with Kurt by the very well maintained pool where he shared his priceless knowledge of things to do in the city. The entire staff there was great and always available to assist me in a variety of requests. Thank you all for making my trip so memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uno25La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

We enjoyed having you stay with us! Hope you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Thank you to everyone at Maison de Macarty! We had the most amazing time, due in huge part to everyone there. The food was amazing, and the house is nothing short of spectacular. Kurt met us with a list of restaurants he thought would appeal to us, unfortunately we didn't get to try them all but the ones we did try were perfect (several are close to the house, which was a huge plus). The house itself is located in the perfect spot. It's close enough to the French Quarter to walk, but far enough away so that in the evenings it's quite and peaceful. The pool was a welcome spot (and one of the few that we found in our research of bed and breakfasts) each night after spending the day in town. We try to find bed and breakfasts to stay when we travel, so we have stayed at many. But without a doubt Maison de Macarty is our favorite. We hope it will become our home away from home for years to come. Thanks again!
Tim and Rick

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, which had a private balcony and king size bed. There is also a dog park across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thanks guys! Come back for some more pool time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#27 of 141 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Address: 3820 Burgundy St, New Orleans, LA 70117-5708
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $158 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing