We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“above and beyond”
Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison de Macarty
Ranked #24 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“above and beyond”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I am sorry to say I only spent one night at this B and B. Chef Will and Loren really know what it takes to make their guests happy. First of all the house is spectacular and the landscaping is coming along nicely and combined with the outdoor pool I don't think you could find anything more comfortable and peaceful. I did not get to try breakfast as I had to leave very early, but Will prepared a to-go box for me with brownies, bread, fruit and pralines that I was snacking on all day. I don't even want to know what I missed by not staying for a full meal. The room I stayed in though small (but perfect for one person) had the most comfortable bed you could ask for and everything was spotless. The best part is how you are treated. Both Will and Loren showed a genuine interest in how my trip was going and in making my stay as pleasant as they could make it. They seemed very happy to interact with their guests as much as the guest wishes. I even received a follow up note once I got home thanking me for my stay. I put in hours of research to find the perfect place to stay in New Orleans to get a feel for the city and be close to everything. I believe I was successful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winston_Orvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    9
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
56
149
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

William and Loren have created a wonderful Bed & Breakfast with Maison de Macarty. The house is absolutely beautiful and they have put lovely touches throughout the house to make your stay feel both comfortable and pampered at the same time. William created delicious masterpieces each morning and left out the best oatmeal raisin cookies we've ever had as an afternoon treat. They are both so welcoming and hospitable. We arrived several hours early and were welcomed with open arms, fresh coffee, tea and almond cake. Our room was ready for us. We had an amazing room with the private balcony at the front of the house. They have clearly gone to a lot of effort to restore this home and to make a relaxing getaway for their guests. It has paid off. Both William and Loren were also very knowledgable about the city and its history and made great recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. We can't make to come back for another visit. Thank you to both William and Loren for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravelling2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a fabulous spot to enjoy and incredible city that is still getting its legs under it. Made reservations in December for the weekend of a friend's 70th birthday. The party was held there on a Saturday night. The setting was intimate and fun and the food was out of this world- as it was the entire stay. Will and Loren are attentive to detail and have created a space from which you can launch yourself for a full day of fun or hunker down in to rest and rejuvinate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Will and Loren have done a beautiful job in renovating this historic house and making it a comfortable, welcoming home. The location is great.....not too near the noisy French Quarter but close enough to walk. The bedrooms were cosy and delightful.....I don't think I've ever slept in a more comfortable bed. The hosts were extremely friendly, and ever helpful in guiding us to interesting places and events in and around New Orleans. Last, but definitely not least, Will's breakfasts were awesome...each one more of a gourmet treat than the last. I cannot recommend Maison de Macarty highly enough. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvtraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We were so lucky that we stumbled upon this place. We came in for one night on new years, it was so refreshing to get out of the quarter and away from the tourists. Upon arriving on this old stunning home, we were greeted with a chilled bottle of champagne which we pleasantly enjoyed by the koi pond. Our room was picture perfect and extremely cozy, with a bed that was absolutely heavenly - perfect for our post New Years eve fatigue.
Breakfast was included, a gourmet experience. The hosts were perfectly friendly and welcoming.
We will absolutely be back, and happily spread the word. I highly recommend this hidden B&B.
:)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalilly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnesville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We came to New Orleans for the first time, not knowing anybody in town. As soon as we walked through the door at Maison de Macarty, greeted by Chef Will with a plate of pralines, we felt completely at home. The hosts are some of the warmest folks you'll ever meet, and Chef Will's breakfasts and treats are exquisite. We felt very lucky to have stumbled onto such a wonderful place to stay in New Orleans. These truly special accomodations gave a rosy glow to the entire trip. And the cannonball bed in Room 5 . . . there's nothing like it. Also, we were on foot for the weekend and the French Quarter was only a pleasant walk away in the evening and short taxi ride back later on. The Bywater neighborhood is eclectic and lively. I can't recommend the Maison de Macarty more highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruralalchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Chef Will and partner Loren made our stay great with all the little details.
From the afternoon cookies to the fantastic breakfasts.

The Maison itself was great. The pool out back nice and relaxing.
The grounds are well done and lush.

We know where we'll be staying on our next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnorThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 139 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 139 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 139 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 139 in New Orleans
453 reviews
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#53 of 139 in New Orleans
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Property: Maison de Macarty
Address: 3820 Burgundy St, New Orleans, LA 70117-5708
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing