We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good you'll want to keep the keys!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Whenever one visits New Orleans there are always many choices to choose from. Sometimes they turn out to be good and other times maybe not so good. It is a city of never ending choices. This place turned out to be a really good choice and I take all the credit for making that choice. I should get a reward for making such an excellent choice. Yeah it's on Bourbon Street but not in that part, far enough away but just close enough, bout 5-6 safe blocks down from where it starts to get sloppy. Frenchmen's Street is closer, more locals, better music. Got the owners suite because my wife & I deserve it. Another one of my excellent choices! For breakfast there weren't many choices but believe me, it was better that way. The owner John takes care of it all. A bed & breakfast is never any better than the people that run it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J0hnnyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

OK, this is the funniest review of the week since the guest actually did accidentally take a set of keys home with him! They should be en route to New Orleans, though, so it's all good. We're so glad that a good time was had by all and appreciate the nice compliments about me, the innkeeper, and the B&B itself! Come back and see us soon...and see the new courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 399 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

La Maison Marigny is located perfectly for a New Orleans visit. It is at the quiet end of Bourbon Street and blocks from Frenchman Street where you can walk from The Spotted Cat to Snug Harbor to d.b.a., the Blue Nile etc, Also, there is usually some great music playing on the street. You are also blocks from the French Market and the river streetcar which takes you to the downtown area and the other Main Street cars. Treme is a short walk away and don't miss the Backstreet Cultural Museum. Anyplace we wanted to visit was a short cab ride away. If you want to do a swamp tour, the van will pick you up and you do not have to go to a major hotel. Our room was comfortable and when the weather was warm we took advantage of the balcony to relax and read the paper and view the neighborhood and the New Orleans architecture. John, the owner and host, cooks a good breakfast and we looked forward to the morning to start with fun conversation and spot on recommendations. We look forward to returning and seeing the new backyard patio that was being installed after the big freeze took so many plants. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We agree! Our location is the best in the city, bar none, although we admit to being a bit biased. Just two blocks from Frenchmen Street and a few blocks (thankfully) from the noise of Bourbon Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Owners Suite was comfortable and well worth the price. We used the kitchen area to relax and play cards. We could easily walk to French Quarter and Frenchman St for restaurants and entertainment. Our host John was a fountain of knowledge and recommendations

Room Tip: Owners Suite on 1st floor is a good bargain - bedroom & sitting room divided by pocket door
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

One of the great things about owning a B&B is meeting guests from all over and from all walks of life. It was really cool to have nice folks celebrating their 49th and 50th anniversaries with us, respectively. So glad everyone enjoyed their New Orleans holiday and we look forward to return visits soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Located in a quiet area close to French Quarter and the up and coming Frenchman area with its eateries and entertainment. Host John is an information filled conversationalist who cooks a good breakfast. His list of eateries with map was very helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks, Ken, for the nice review. Glad you liked Frenchmen Street. Many of our guests actually prefer it to Bourbon when seeking nighttime activities. It's really a great asset to our city! Thanks again for your visit and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were looking forward to our first visit at the B&B this week. Unfortunately our flight was cancelled due to the NOLA weather conditions. John was right on top of things by monitoring our flight in advance and even took the time to notify us that the flight had been cancelled. Wow! That is outstanding service. He went out of his way to accommodate us. I can't say enough good things about John and how he handled the cancellation. We can't wait to actually stay there later this year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank for your kind words. Sometimes things happen that we just have to deal with and weather is one of those things! It has been a wicked winter, even in southeast Louisiana! While we were bummed you couldn't join us in January, we're thrilled that you've already rebooked for later in 2014! See you in a few months!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I love to stay at B & Bs anywhere we go because they are run by local people who have a good feel for the area.La Maison Marigny was the best one we ever stayed at in our travels.For the money,it was located on the outskirts of French Quarter,so we could walk from there to where the action was.Whether it be in the quarter or on the outskirts.I don't think B & Bs are for everybody.We look for casual but comfortable.We could afford to stay in any hotel we choose and sometimes we stay at very upscale joints.For the most part,our money is on B & Bs.La Maison Marigny is our favorite so far.Hopefully in our future we will continue to find better and better B & Bs.If you are a fan of B & Bs,go to La Maison Marigny in New Orleans.

Room Tip: front rooms have views of street and have balconies or deck
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

I love this headline...local flavor. Couldn't agree more! B&Bs in New Orleans get great reviews and there are literally dozens with 4.5 stars on TripAdvisor. That says a lot. Why stay in a big box when you can stay in a great old home and get breakfast, WiFi, parking, etc. included in the (usually much lower) price!?? Doesn't make sense to me! Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Located one block outside the French Quarter, this very quiet and picturesque B&B is a few blocks walk from all the music venues on Frenchman Street in one direction and on Bourbon Street in the other direction. The décor invokes the history of New Orleans and includes both a quiet front porch with a pair of rocking chairs and a lush inner courtyard off the kitchen-dining room-lobby. The host prepares an informal but NOLA-style breakfast while chatting with you about sights, scenes, parades, and customs that make the city so unique. Snacks, beverages, and coffee are always available. Our ground floor room had its own sitting room with couch, stuffed chairs, and fabric-covered coffee table. Definitely a "find" to return to in the future. (Because our room shared the heating and light with the B&B's common spaces, we had to learn from our host how to control the thermostat and turn off the hall lights before we were able to assure that our room was comfortable and dark through the night.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for the nice reviews. Old houses can be tricky when it's cold outside but with a little patience and effort, thermostats can be mastered! We're so pleased you had a great visit to New Orleans and hope you will come back soon to visit us...and to see our newly renovated courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,196 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,955 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,224 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Address: 1421 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2008
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: $149 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing