We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"Highly Recommended!!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“"Highly Recommended!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Planning my first trip to New Orleans, I was a little overwhelmed at where to stay. I chose this B & B because of the reviews, and they were certainly right! My expectations were exceeded. Despite my initial reservations regarding the location, my partner and I felt perfectly safe walking and exploring during the day and night. The area was very close to the French Quarter without the chaos. The proximity to Frenchmen Street can't be beat as it was definitely a highlight of our trip! The house is historic and beautifully kept. And like the rest of the reviews, John is awesome!! John was a tremendous help in answering questions, giving wonderful recommendations (restaurants were excellent!), tasty breakfasts, and making us feel comfortable and right at home. He also has great stories and tidbits - we really enjoyed talking with him!

In short, this is a fabulous place to stay - great location, great host, and great room. Highly recommended and would stay again without hesitation! Already looking forward to another trip to this wonderful city.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Balcony room, which overlooked the quieter part of Bourbon Street. Beautifully deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_epTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
186
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staying at La Maison Marigny was the perfect experience! John was a fantastic host. He was incredibly knowledgeable about New Orleans, interesting, funny, and helpful. The location of the B&B could not have been better. It is steps from the French Quarter, just a couple of blocks from the Frenchman Street area, and an easy walk to Magazine Street. We stayed in the beautifully decorated owner's suite. It is the only room on the first floor and perfect for those who often come in late at night. Also, located next to the kitchen, perfect for those who like to wake up to the smell of a delicious breakfast cooking. The atmosphere at La Maison Marigny is very laid back. I would recomment it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at La Maison mid June and had a fantastic stay.

John is a wonderful host as all reviews attest to - so I won't go on here, only to say all of his suggestions were great and breakfasts were delicious.

LOCATION - when we told people we were on Bourbon street, most people looked in terror however, this location is perfect. Location is a big thing for us in our travels and I don't think you would want to be anywhere else in the French District.

ROOM - very clean with great furnishings. We had a balcony queen, whilst in this room you may hear the occasional groups walking the streets at night we found this was the only thing that detracts from the room, the balcony more than makes up for this it.

It was very hard to fault our stay here, I do try and cover off good and bad in my reviews which hasn't been easy. Our only small things I could even think of again probably are more room related, we had the occasional issue using the keys for our door and the wifi connection in areas of the room was very low to drop out, but it is also the furthest point from the connection, all other places in the house were no issues.

We were on Bourbon street Saturday night and it was crazy, so busy and so much fun. New Orleans is a fantastic city, try a cooking class and swamp tour, we also ate at Muriel's which was one of the better experiences we have had on this American trip. If we ever manage to make the trip back from Australia as I hope we can at some stage, I know I won't need to research accom in NOLA, I will be contacting John immediately.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shakers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We highly recommend the La Maison Marigny. John was a gracious host and made us feel at ease from the time we arrived. The room was great and the decor was amazing. We were initially a little concerned with the location being at the end of Bourbon street but the location was perfect and quiet. John's french toast dish for breakfast is to die for!

Room Tip: We had an upstairs end room and it was quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring hill, tn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

La Maison Marigny was the perfect place to stay to experience NOLA and celebrate our 5 year anniversary. It was right around the corner from the hotspots on Frenchman and just a short walk to the bars of Bourbon St. We loved our comfortable, clean balcony room and enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings. The courtyard was also a nice place to relax in the afternoon. We could probably start a John fan club based on all the reviews, but I'll say it again. John is absolutely fantastic and helped make our New Orleans experience very special through his hospitality and willingness to share his insider knowledge and recommendations of things to do, places to eat and see. He also made us a delicious breakfast every morning and kept the coffee going! We always travel on a budget, and this was great value. John even put together a weekday package, which sweetened the deal for us bargain hunters. We will defiantly be back to this wonderful NOLA gem!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our 3rd stay in 2 years and as always, simply incredible! We love the location of the B&B and all it has to offer. John is fantastic and always so helpful! Over our 3 stays we have stayed in all 4 rooms. The courtyard view room is probably the quietest.....great for couples like us who enjoy NOLA nightlife. The balcony room is probably our favourite. We loved sitting out there and watching our favourite city go by. The owners suite is lovely, lots of room for two. It is beside the kitchen, so if you are night owls, like us, it can result in an earlier than planned wake up thanks to the awesome smells of Johns cooking and those starting their day early. The middle room is very pretty and bright!
John is an incredible host. Always available to help with anything from dinner recommendations to helping us secure Saints tickets. Enjoy the location, enjoy the courtyard, enjoy the proximity to Bourbon craziness and the great sounds on Frenchman. Have fun!
We can't wait to return. The countdown is on!
J'lyn & Jim
Aka "The Canadians"
Edmonton, Alberta

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

There were no rooms to be had for French Quarter Fest so my New Orleans relatives found this bed and breakfast for us. It is gem. The decor is lovely and it is CLEAN. Our host John clearly enjoys his job. The breakfasts were always good and his efforts to provide maps and information were great. It's close enough to the action, but far enough away to be quiet. We loved sitting in the back courtyard or on the front porch in the rockers. Diana and Ray

Room Tip: We enjoyed the back room, but I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,395 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Property: La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
Address: 1421 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing