We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooh la la”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ooh la la”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

There were no rooms to be had for French Quarter Fest so my New Orleans relatives found this bed and breakfast for us. It is gem. The decor is lovely and it is CLEAN. Our host John clearly enjoys his job. The breakfasts were always good and his efforts to provide maps and information were great. It's close enough to the action, but far enough away to be quiet. We loved sitting in the back courtyard or on the front porch in the rockers. Diana and Ray

Room Tip: We enjoyed the back room, but I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
186
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As this was our first visit to New Orleans, the location of this B&B was perfect. Just a 10-15 minute walk to the bars of Bourbon St and a couple of streets away from Frenchman St too. As you are a bit further away from the bars, it's quite quiet here except for a bit of street traffic in the morning, so it was perfect for us.
Although the location is perfect, it is the hospitality that makes La Maison Marigny incomparable! John is a very welcoming and helpful host and provides you with a map of the town and helpful hints about where to eat/drink/go. We were greeted with warm cookies and a cold drink on arrival which was very welcome after a long flight from the UK. Breakfast is a real highlight at La Maison Marigny too - John cooks a different one every morning - including Nutella french toast, dirty rice and eggs, and white choc/raspberry pancakes - all of which tasted AMAZING and set us up perfectly for a day's exploring in New Orleans. Lots of coffee and juice and interesting chats at breakfast - a lovely way to start the day.
This is a really great base for exploring the city and its nightlife too and really is a home-from-home as you can use the internet/phone and help yourself to cold drinks and snacks whenever you like.
We had the Balcony Queen room at the front which was lovely - spacious and homely and great to have a balcony too.
Recommended for new visitors to New Orleans or returning travellers! 10/10. I want to go back now!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah130677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

As first timers to New Orleans, we were a bit concerned that staying on Bourbon Street might turn into a frat party. I didn't take long to realize that this B&B is perfect. A quiet enclave, steps to Frenchman's street and the Quarter. This place shows off the best of New Orleans!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a great weekend at La Maison Marigny. My boyfriend and I stayed here 2 nights. We drove from Florida and arrived on a Saturday afternoon. The house is easy to find in a quite neighborhood. John was so accommodating and helpful from making the reservation, to the day of arrival, during our stay, etc. The house is in the perfect location to walk everywhere-straight up Bourbon, over to Frenchmen Street, down to the river. Our room was the Courtyard Queen which was lovely. Although the house gets warm upstairs, we opened the windows and the fresh air on the beautiful March morning made it perfect. John made Sunday morning breakfast as guests awoke and breakfast was blueberry pancakes, fruit salad, and breakfast sausage. The courtyard is a great place to sit with a cup of coffee and listen to the sounds of the morning. Staying at La Maison Marigny made this trip a wonderful weekend. We will definitely stay here when we visit New Orleans again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at La Maison Marigny and were particularly pleased with the location - on a quiet section of Bourbon Street just on the border of the Marigny. We were able to walk into the French Quarter each day and enjoy Frenchman Street just 2 blocks away at night. We thought the house was lovely and enjoyed the Owner's Suite which was honestly more space than we needed! We did find the temperature of the house to be overly chilly, which was probably because of the mugginess outside. We were quite cold in our room and wished there was a way to control the temperature and draft in our room. I suppose in the summer this would not be an issue.
One thing to note is that the owners do not live at the B&B. While John is always accessible by phone I felt that it was a little odd, in such a small B&B, for the guests to be left on their own at night.
I had emailed John previously to ask about lighter breakfast options. His breakfasts are delicious but quite heavy. He very kindly made fruit salad for us which I think other quests appreciated as well. There was some cereal to be had (though John mentioned we should check if it was stale) but only a small amount of milk in the fridge so if I had wanted any John would have had to go out and get more. This is not at all unusual for B&Bs, but I feel generally that lighter breakfast options should be offered to all guests as a regular thing. We are not fussy eaters by any means, and have no dietary restrictions, but we prefer to eat healthier, at least sometimes!
Let me reiterate that we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone. The minor points I mention are just to assist other guests with information we would have liked to have prior to our visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicgalNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I would like to thank the guest for their positive review. We agree that our location is the best (!) and that the house is quite nice and are glad to see other share our opinion. In fact, just this week the Canadian daily newspaper Globe and Mail commented that our B&B was "perhaps the perfect B&B." Made us blush! It should be noted that the Owner's Suite is on a thermostat separate from the other rooms so it's relatively easy to adjust temperatures. Of course, during wicked cold snaps like we've had this week it's challenging to regulate the temps of these old Louisiana houses! And we're glad the guests enjoyed breakfast and are glad we could provide healthier options, even though 95% of our guests want to splurge a bit when traveling. While it's difficult for small B&Bs to honor multiple special meal requests, we'll always make sure no one goes hungry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

John was an amazing host! He made 2 New Orleans "first timers" feel very welcome and made certain that we were well informed .Wonderful breakfasts, served with lively conversation from our host, started our day off perfectly. This B&B is comfortable, convenient and attractive, located on the quiet, residential end of Bourbon Street with lovely private homes and friendly neighbors.We'll definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We had the 2nd floor balcony room and were not disappointed! It was quiet, very comfortable and beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samburuwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
It's always nice to get great reviews from guests and we appreciate you taking your time to write. While we're not always perfect, we do strive to make sure guests are comfortable and are having a good time while in the city. Please do come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you truely want the best of everything in or near the French Quarter, this is by far the best place to stay. We had a reunion with 3 other couples from High School, therefore , we had the whole B & B to ourselves. Had a blast. John , the Owner, Host and Chef, cold not have been more cordial and helpful ! We had some ideas and suggestions of places to see and do, but John gave us even more, and better insight on the best of everything. We were lucky enough to get the "Owner's Suite", but all of our friends enjoyed their rooms equally as well, they all chose their rooms before we even got their, and were very happy with their choices. Beautifully decorated rooms, we used the suite lounge are as our gathering place, as well as the kitchen /dining area, which was very comfortable. All 8 of had a place to sit during our wonderful and delicious breakfasts each morning. Only 1 1/2 blocks to the Quarter, and the other way to Frenchman St. , where there is more to do than you'll have time for. Once we parked our cars right in front of the B & B, we never used them again till we left ! John made us feel just like we lived there, and we had a ball. We will never consider using any other place to stay when we visit the French Quarter. Thank you John !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DickPBall_Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. The guest in question was part of a group that rented the entire B&B and they were a hoot. It was a fun time for all, including me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,705 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,105 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Property: La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
Address: 1421 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2008
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing