We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a delightful stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
fullerton,ca
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly a delightful stay.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wanted to try a B&B in New Orleans and this was our first one. Great room downstairs, bedroom with a spacious sitting room where we had time to relax before and after our trips down Bourbon street, close to the French Market and the Streetcar that runs to the convention center. John was very helpful in recommending great restaurants for dinner and day excursions and always made sure we started out our day with a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Downstairs owner suite very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seah0rse_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We thank you once again for staying with us and for sharing kind words with others. Glad you enjoyed the Owner's Suite. It gets good reviews from customers! We're also thrilled that we were your first B&B experience. Now you're hooked, and you have us to blame!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
186
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Quite likely your holiday lodging is barely a lasting memory however a stay at this Bourbon Street bed & breakfast becomes an integral part of the overall Nola experience not easily forgotten. My husband & I felt secure and comfortable in this beautifully furnished old home. We had the upper street room, charming with a walk-out balcony & the clip-clop sounds of the carriage mules returning to the barns in the evening. Our car was parked safely below, just one of many perks offered to us by John,our congenial host. Each morning began with a casual visit to the kitchen to enjoy John's surprise breakfast, always delicious. The backyard garden is a nice place to enjoy a second cup of coffee, read the local newspaper or plan your day. For the latter John offers smart information & will steer you in the right direction. Exceptional service, we would happily return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the street views & sounds in the upper front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Chicki, thanks again for staying with us and for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Balcony Queen room as it's one of our favorites, too. Just enjoying the sights and sounds of the quiet residential side of Bourbon is pretty cool when you know there's all kinds of buffoonery just a few blocks down the street! Please visit New Orleans again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for the French Quarter Festival, and it was perfect. Far enough away from the party for peace, close enough for easy access to everything. The B&B is a lovely historic house with period furniture that is incredibly comfortable, and a great host in John, who not only happily helped with recommendations, but whipped up a fabulous breakfast. If you want unique, comfortable, local, and friendly, you can hardly do better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank St.LouisEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments about La Maison Marigny! It's always great when people give us a "thumbs up" but it's even more gratifying when those props come from a TripAdvisor "Top Contributor." We are humbled and will continue to try to have the best little B&B on Bourbon Street! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great house nice great host we stayed three days much better than hotel will be going back food was great and john knows the nola info full of great info. Cannot say i would wana return without staying here again awsome food as well!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
It was a pleasure hosting your group just a week after Hurricane Isaac! Luckily, we only had minor damage and were able to repair it before your arrival. I'm so glad you enjoyed the house and visiting New Orleans. Thanks and come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent four nights here at the end of July / start of August on the honeymoon package and had a wonderful stay. John was an excellent host throughout, very down to earth. He gave us a great welcome and talked about the best bars, restaurants and places to visit. He made the most amazing breakfasts, no two were ever the same during our stay.

We stayed in the owners suite and it was very large and comfortable. The suite was decorated with lots of ornaments and pictures of Madri Gras and other New Orleans bits and pieces. It's very like a small apartment. The kitchen is next to the suite and is open all day and night for snacks and refreshments.

The location of the B&B could not be better, its down the quiet end of Bourbon Street, about a five minute walk to all the bars and restaurants but residential and quiet in the evenings. Safety was not a worry, the area is perfectly safe day and night. Cannot recommend this B&B enough, location, room quality, breakfast and hosting was all excellent.

Room Tip: Owners suite is large and very comfortable, located on ground floor if you want to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colindkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are so glad you spent your honeymoon with us in New Orleans! Always love having guests from all over the world....keeps things very interesting. Breakfast is a lot of fun and we enjoy trying new dishes. The chocolate french toast we debuted while you were here is now part of our regular rotation...guests love it. Thanks again for the nice words and come back to NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Recently stayed here on a recommendation from a friend, and really glad we did. Loved the house - very cozy and nicely decorated - there is even a nice little patio area in the back! John is an extremely nice guy and we had a great time talking to him about the goings-on in his city. The B&B is in a great location - a short walk from the middle of the Quarter and the music clubs on Frenchmen St., but far enough away from the action that you can get a good night's sleep when you are done for the night! Speaking of sleep, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. I highly recommend checking out this B&B next time you travel to NOLA - I don't think I'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lootcorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
OK, I have to admit that I agree with you....our new beds are among the most comfortable I've ever experienced. Same beds used by a 5-star hotel chain, in fact! Glad you also enjoyed the house, our great location near Frenchmen Street AND the French Quarter and spending time with me. :-) Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 days here. John is an excellent host and provided the most enjoyable breakfasts. The B&B is located only a few minutes from the French Quarter and felt very safe - we had no issues walking back late at night. There's lots of great music and places to eat within a few minutes walking distance. Places we thoroughly enjoyed were the 3 Muses for great tapas and great music and the Spotted Cat - excellent music. We'd definitely stay here again if we returned to New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Kia Ora! It's always nice to have Kiwis in the house! Thanks for visiting all the way from New Zealand. So glad you enjoyed your visit and we lived up to your expectations....especially since I remember that you are quite the world travelers! We agree that the Marigny is quite a safe neighborhood and are glad you felt secure. If you visit New Orleans again, we hope that the best little B&B on Bourbon Street is part of your itinerary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,719 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,116 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,211 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Property: La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
Address: 1421 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2008
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing