We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 7, 2012

La Maison Marigny is our only choice when we stay in New Orleans. A beautifully maintained B&B, La Maison is in an ideal location - short walks to the main part of the French Quarter and to Frenchmen Street and a few steps to Esplanade. But, by far, the heart of La Maison is John. Need a recommendation for anything....ask John. He'll let you know the place to go and even advise what to avoid, whether it's the typical touristy place or a hidden/local gem. We've been repeat customers for years, staying every year for Jazz Fest. We did stay one year at a chain hotel and we regretted it; you just don't get the local vibe or the hospitality at the big hotels as you do at La Maison. John makes your stay so comfortable, you feel like you come home after your day on the town. You truly won't find better than La Maison Marigny!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PKMaceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

We appreciate you staying with us again for Jazz Fest and hope you can do so in 2013 as well! It's a great time of year and we're so happy that La Maison Marigny makes it even more enjoyable for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 399 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

A lovely place within walking distance of all the bars and nightlife but in a quiet location at the end of bourbon street.John is a friendly and knowledgable host who can provide you with any information you may require.The house has all the character that makes New Orleans so special and has a pleasant garden at the back,we also had a balcony overlooking the road which was a bonus.Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank padsmcginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

We love our location, too! We think it's the best in New Orleans and many of our guests seem to agree. Easy walk to Frenchmen (2 blocks) and Bourbon (outside our front door), plus a 10-15 minute...or less...walk to everything in the French Quarter.

Enjoyed meeting you when you were in the U.S. and look forward to your next trip to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

La Maison is perfectly positioned to enjoy New Orleans at its best! At the end of Bourbon, near Frenchman, La Maison enables a 3-4 min walk to either Frenchman (Snug Harbor) or the Quarter (Cafe Du Monde). John is an amazing host. He knows his city and what it takes to enjoy its riches. The beds are comfy, bathrooms are nicely renovated, linens are cozy and food is great! We rented the entire house for Jazz Fest and have already booked for another year!
Thanks John!

Room Tip: Love the purple room on back of house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review our B&B and, of course, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have more renovations and upgrades planned soon so come back and see the continued progress. (Also love the shout out about the linens. We buy nice cotton linens and comfy beds because "bed" is the most important thing at a B&B!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We just returned from our first visit to NOLA. We enjoyed our 4-night stay at Maison Marigny. Its location right off one of the city's lovliest streets, Esplanade, was perfect for walking everywhere in the Quarter without staying in the midst of noise, crowds, and the grime of Bourbon Street. It was also a perfect short walk for late nights at the clubs on Frenchman Street. We went to the CBD and art district a couple of times easily with a combo of streetcar, walking, and cab. John guided us well on our outings. And as Californians used to eating lots of fresh fruits and vegetables—and finding those foods either woefully missing or loaded with bacon—John specially made fruit salad just for us at breakfast. Our room was comfortable and clean and quiet at night. It was a perfect value and lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArtSnob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us! It's always our pleasure to accommodate guests' wants and needs as much as possible, and "more fruit" was a very easy request to fulfill! :-) Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here April 2012, have been to New Orleans a few times having stayed previously at the Old Victorian and Royal Street Courtyard which in themselves were great B&B's, until I discovered La Maison Marigny. This place is a great little jewel so full of charm and charisma. Located at the end of Bourbon Street, it’s very quiet, peaceful and very safe, just minutes from the jazz, bars and restaurants of Frenchman street and several blocks to the traditional Bourbon street happenings and high jinks it is renowned for.
The room we had was the Balcony room, it had air con, wide screen TV, comfortable new beds which I believe all the rooms have, and we had a nice balcony area to walk out on to for a glass of wine before you go out.
Breakfast was the biggest surprise of all, I only expected a basic continental which I was accustomed to at previous establishments, but John the owner cooked up a mean breakfast every morning of hot goodies of blueberry bread pudding, breakfast pizzas with corn beef hash, chocolate croissants, blueberry muffins and a host of other delights all freshly made in his new kitchen and served to you with coffee and juice.
What was also part of the price were complimentary drinks of coke, sometimes beers, chips, cookies etc. available through the day. A nice courtyard to take breakfast, coffee or a few beers to mingle with fellow guests.
Oh yes I almost forgot, the host, the most important, John a great hospitable and welcoming guy, full of knowledge, recommendations where to eat and visit, gets everyone involved in conversations with the other guests if you are a little shy.
It’s so easy to see why people keep coming back and I don’t know how it took me so long to find.

Room Tip: Get the Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thanks, guys, for your wonderful review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay in both our balcony room and in New Orleans! We always love hosting guests from the UK and I enjoyed learning more about Derby and the Midlands. We look forward to seeing you again in a couple of years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have never written a review, but felt compelled to rave about La Maison Marigny! My husband and I just celebrated our 30th Anniversary in the city where we got married...NOLA!! I wanted someplace special to stay, so after reading numerous reviews on Trip Advisor, I settled on the owner's suite at La Maison Marigny and couldn't be more pleased. Staying at this B&B was special in every way. We could easily walk through the French Quarter, yet the location of the B&B is very quiet, safe and serene. The house itself is gorgeous...very high-end linens, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Probably the best aspect of our stay here was our host, John Ramsey. He was a wealth of knowledge and information that helped us see New Orleans from the eyes of a native, not a tourist. He was just delightful, and a great cook! Everything about our stay was perfect...we will never stay anywhere else when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Wow! I love reading that someone who never writes reviews took the time to do it just for us. Wonderful! I am so glad you enjoyed New Orleans, my cooking and La Maison Marigny. Please do come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

La Maison Marigny could not be in a better location for exploring NOLA, particularly if you like to walk -- just a few blocks from the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street and a short cab ride everywhere else. John is the consummate host: friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable. His breakfasts do the job, especially the Nutella-stuffed French toast. Some B&Bs provide an extremely lavish gourmet breakfast, but that's not really necessary or even appropriate in a food town like NOLA, where you're likely to be eating four or five times a day :-}. (As John put it, "You don't have to be hungry to eat," especially in NOLA!) We stayed in the Deluxe Queen room for six nights and were very comfortable. The B&B is surprisingly quiet at night, considering it's just a few blocks from often-raucous Bourbon Street scene. We had only a couple of very small quibbles about the room, First, other guests sometimes forgot to turn off the stair light, which streamed through the transom and woke us up; dark curtains on the transom would really help. Second, the jute rug is pretty but murder on bare feet! Softer carpeting would be much easier on the tootsies. As mentioned, though, these are not serious complaints. The next time we visit NOLA, we will definitely be staying at La Maison Marigny. True dat!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ferrgus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Thanks so much for your review and for staying with us! I personally appreciate the "wonderful host" comments and am thrilled that you agree that our location is among the best in New Orleans! I've made a note of the suggestions for improving the guest room experience and we will definitely consider making those changes happen. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,129 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Address: 1421 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2008
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: $149 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing