We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, Casual and Congenial”
Review of La Dauphine B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dauphine B&B
Ranked #67 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy, Casual and Congenial”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ray and Kim have nailed the details at La Dauphine - the bed linens and towels were nicer than I have at home! The wi-fi connection was consistent and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. We stayed in the Matisse room and I've rarely felt so instantly at ease in a space. We're accustomed to staying in other parts of New Orleans that have more traffic and noise, and we found the neighborhood around la Dauphine to be extremely quiet and serene. Ray clued us in to coffee shops and restaurants just a few blocks away, and we found them to be affordable and full of locals. La Dauphine is a great place to stay if you want to be within "striking distance" of the city's tourist attractions, but not in the thick of things. We couldn't have asked for more congenial hosts and we enjoyed several lively and interesting chats. Hoshi and Tanuki are polite and affectionate and they helped us not miss our own dog so much! We will definitely be back...can't wait to see you again, Ray and Kim!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShaunaDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were lucky to make a return visit to La Dauphine B&B this April. Everything was still as charming and delightful as the first visit, and this time Ray and Kim's hospitality was extended to two friends we brought along. Their backyard garden was in bloom where we had a great time chatting over breakfast with Ray. He had excellent restaurant recommendations, and was extremely helpful in making our trip easy and fun. Our friend accidentally forgot dress slacks, and Ray generously lent a pair of his own so we could make it to our Commander's Palace lunch on time! From La Dauphine, we were able to explore the Marigny and find some great restaurants and bars within a 5-10 minute walk (Mimi's in the Marigny and Cake Cafe and Bakery were outstanding). We will be back to La Dauphine as soon as we can make a return trip to New Orleans!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EEmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Had a great time. Comfy bedroom. Good area very close to Frenchman street, and walkable to Bourbon Street too. Continental breakfast good. Would have preferred a shower rather than standing in freestanding bath with shower. Hosts very amenable - think of it as sharing their house rather than a hotel.Thanks very much :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank skr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I had a delightul experience staying at La Dauphine, Bed&Breakfast for 6 days. I arrived in New Orleans, absolutely alone and was warmfully received by Ray and Kim. They gave me several tips of places to go around the city and of several charming and interesting restaurants in Marigny and the French Quarter. Last, but not least, I loved my bedroom, an authentic Louisiana setting.
I hope to go back soon! .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at La Dauphine. We enjoyed our trip to New Orleans more than we could've imagined, and staying at La Dauphine was a true highlight. The friendly conversation, great recommendations, and beautiful setting--- what more could we ask for? And what a perfect location for all of our excursions. The house is 5 minutes walking distance to the fabulous Frenchman Street and all of its jazz clubs and restaurants. In 10 minutes you can walk to the beautiful French Quarter, but if you aren't feeling like a nice walk, there are 2 convenient bus lines only 2 blocks from La Dauphine.
We can say with all sincerity that you'll see us again (and hopefully, we'll bring friends too!)
Thanks again to Ray and Kim, and La Dauphine!!

Room Tip: The Matisse Room was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed for a week at La Dauphine during a conference, wanting to be a bit away from the sterile high-rise hotels on Canal Street, and save some money. I was not disappointed. For me, La Dauphine has a charm that modern conference hotels, with all their conveniences, utterly lack. It is located in a real neighbourhood (the Marigny, just to one side of the French Quarter), with real neighbours (friendly ones) and a variety of local businesses including not only several good restaurants but also grocery stores and laundromats if you need them. The neighbourhood felt quite safe to me as a previous resident of Chicago, Pittsburgh, Toronto and Vancouver, and it was wonderful to be able to walk home conveniently after a visit to some of the jazz clubs on Frenchmen Street. For business, you can reach Canal Street by a streetcar that runs every half hour or so for only $1.25 (as of April 2011), or take cab for about $8. La Dauphine itself, a Victorian-era home, has the aesthetic one should expect from the real, old New Orleans: elegant decay. Everything that you need to work actually works (showers, electrical outlets), and the beds are clean and comfortable. However the slightly sloping floors, peeling paint, and somewhat cluttered décor (scattered with plenty of magazines and travel books) remind you that you are in New Orleans. Without this, why come? Ray Ruiz is an extremely gracious host, ready to chat when you want and inform you about local amenities, or leave you to yourself if you prefer. Due to local ordinances, he is not allowed to prepare hot breakfasts (like bacon and eggs), but was well supplied with fresh berries, cold cereal, yogurt and bagels. In my opinion, having stayed in countless hotels and several B&Bs over the years, La Dauphine is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband and I celebrated Mardi Gras on Canal and in the French Quarter. We came "home" to La Dauphine. It was everthing we had hoped it would be. The house is intriguing and has a feel of times gone by as does the Marginy area. Ray is a virtual library of New Orleans and he will assist you with anything from directions to food suggestions. Of all of our trips to New Orleans this one has been the most relaxing and enjoyable and a large part of the reason is Ray, Kim, and their wonderful home. Merci!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#37 of 140 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 140 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#11 of 140 in New Orleans
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#49 of 140 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#14 of 140 in New Orleans
358 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dauphine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dauphine B&B

Property: La Dauphine B&B
Address: 2316 Dauphine St., Faubourg Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-8506
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are $109-$150 per night, 3 night minimum. La Dauphine is a laid-back guest house for the budget-minded traveler, located in the Bohemian, artsy, gay part of town, 4 blocks from the French Quarter, a 12 minute streetcar ride to the Convention Center. No unregistered guests are allowed in the rooms. A mellow, village-like atmosphere prevails throughout the neighborhood. Rooms have 4-poster queen beds, 2 persons to a room maximum. Free Wi-Fi; there is a small house dog- Shiba Inu (Japanese). No smoking. All welcome (except uptight, rigid people :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Dauphine B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing