We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in New Orleans
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de la Monnaie(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
French Market Inn(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Provincial(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Frenchmen Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bienville House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Soniat House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
541
31
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
541
31
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalgiers pointboudinb bcrown and anchora short ferry ridedry dock cafehistoric neighborhoodgreat hostsalgiers ferryallen roomprivate bathroomfrench quartercanal streetlovely homewealth of informationfive minute walkfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 573 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent 7 nights with Kevin and Wendy. Kevin is a fabulous host who went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. In addition, free of charge, he entertained us with stories of his life, both current and in the past. I truly think he should write a book.

There is a great back porch for chatting accompanied by a little wine and a very comfortable room, with a great bed and wonderful sheets. The entire B&B is immaculate. The breakfast of fresh fruit with Greek yoghurt and granola was very satisfying and is a great choice for starting out each day. In addition there were bagels and English muffins, which we sometimes passed up on, in order to have a snack at Café du Monde in the French Quarter mid-morning. It was fun taking the 5 minute ferry back and forth to Canal Street. This ferry makes Algiers Point a quiet location that is only a short trip from the French Quarter.

I can't say enough good things about this B&B and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review!! I think we have both met our match for story telling. It's the Irish in me coming out! We look forward to your return visit next year in the Spring but book early as that is our busiest time of year,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Kevin's establishment is more than a business. It's a home, he treats it as such and the charm of it shows. He greeted me with a beer and some great information. Watch the ferry schedule closely and if you stay out past 8pm you will surely be getting a $20 dollar cab right back. Still well worth the price as staying in the French Quarter costs double what Kevin's costs. I've stayed at both. Finally the breakfast: it doesn't sound like much, granola, fruit, etc., but he puts it together masterfully and it will fill you up and get you ready to tackle the day! Be sure to get the bloody mary by the ferry and the English pub is a very worthwhile stop! I'm sure I'll be seeing Kevin again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theaceman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Many thanks for the wonderful review and pleased to hear you will be returning to stay with us again. Proves we're doing something right :-) Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were staying in New Orleans just after Mardi Gras, and as we spent a lot of time walking and sightseeing in the city, we were grateful for hopping over on the ferry for more peaceful evenings! The House of the Rising Sun was very clean, with a great healthy breakfast and we were grateful for Kevin and Wendy's local knowledge, and being greeted with a great cup of tea! Thanks Kevin and Wendy for a great stay in Algiers Point!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadehynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed the peacefulness of our B&B and neighborhood - that's why we live here :-) Always good to accommodate fellow Brits and catch up on the news of Merry Olde England! Hope to see y'all again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Kevin was a personable host at the charming bed and breakfast. The rooms were always taken care of, any needs met and the breakfast was fresh made daily. I enjoyed Kevin's stories of the history of New Orleans as well as the background of the work and interesting finds he has discovered since moving to New Orleans. Kevin made you feel like you were staying at a friend's house. Wonderful person to meet, great story teller, and most helpful with what to do around town. Informative of the commute resources, times and right on the money with cab services and fees. Knowledgeable resources as well as one of the best Hosts with personality I have ever met. The house of the Rising Sun is not just a place to stay the night but a place that you will remember and make as part of your experience in the future trips because of Kevin. Thank you for all you did to make me feel welcome.

Room Tip: the front room would face the street and have great views of the neighborhood
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabathia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review! Having great guests like you always make this job worthwhile. I look forward to your next visit as you are only a couple of hours drive away and you can never spend too much time in New Orleans :-) Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We've never been in New Orleans hence were somewhat novices at getting around and gaining information. Kevin and Wendy were totally helpful and offered a great, clean place to stay. We especially enjoyed the tasty breakfasts and petting their very friendly dog Boudin! And, the location and access to the ferry were
very advantageous. Later hours of ferry operation would be a plus during the week. Not Kevin and Wendy's fault. Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review and look forward to your return trip next year! Give our regards to our former guests that recommended us up there in frozen Minnesota!! Ya, you betcha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews