We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, greatest breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay, greatest breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

In a city as lively and partying as New Orleans, it is great to be able to retreat in a pleasant quiet, yet historically interesting neigbourhood on the other side of the river! Kevin and Wendy are great hosts, with lots of (music) tips for a nice stay. Dog Boudin is friendly, even for people like me who don't love dogs. The room is perfect. And: halfway on a 4 week trip and already getting used ( a bit) to the US breakfast, it was especially great to have a breakfast full of fruit, yoghurt etc. Best breakfast of my trip!
There's only ONE thing to make this B&B even better: return of full operation of the ferry! It really is unbelievable that such an obvious ferry connection is considered too expensive / not profitabel... Now I was forced to train my (poor) "taxi-holding" skills when going back to the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD76_ASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review! We are hoping the ferry will be back to its normal running hours some time soon but guests are managing to get around without too much delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
323
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had a great time staying in Algiers Point. Peaceful end to a hectic day. The ferry is on short hours right now so we took the bus from the stop a couple of blocks away right to Canal St for $1.25 each which took about 25 mins. Returned at 8pm on the bus and felt totally safe both on the bus and walking back. Algiers Point is like a funky little village where people seem to know each other.
Kevin and Wendy's B&B is lovely and homey and on arriving we sat in the living room with other guests chatting like we'd been there before. We took the Minnie room which was very quiet, comfortable and had an en suite bathroom.
Breakfast was perfect, a hearty bowl of the freshest fruit, yogurt and granola followed by fresh croissants from the bakery down the road. There were other things too but we had no room. Kevin also makes a very decent cup of tea!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review! Like you, and many of our guests, we think this is a fantastic neighborhood!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

A perfect place to stay in Algiers Point, a quiet walking neighborhood with easy access to the French Quarter via the Algiers Ferry. We used to live around the corner and I always wanted to stay here as we drove past this B&B. So, naturally we signed up on our first return trip to New Orleans. My expectations were completely met. The house is warm and welcoming. It was wonderful to talk with Kevin about the changes in NOLA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinCoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review. Always good to see former neighbors returning to Algiers Point even though you were moving away as we moved in. Hope to see y'all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

My wife and I finished of our tour of the Southern States by visiting New Orleans and staying at the House of the Rising Sun B&B for four nights. What a find this place was, great hosts, great location, great breakfast, superb bed (wonderful sheets, sooo soft) and a wonderful local pub.
Wendy and Kevin are great hosts, as is Boudin the house guard dog and the Saints biggest fan. The welcome was great and made even better by a cold beer. Wendy and Kevin are a great couple, their stories will enthral you and result, more often than not, in tears of laughter. It would be so easy, and a pleasure, to sit and talk with them all day. The house is full of very interesting New Orleans memorabilia and it is worth taking a few moments to read some of it.
We requested the room next to the kitchen, based on previous reviews, and we were not disappointed. The room was was immaculately presented and very comfortable. It was also refreshing to have a very healthy breakfast to start the day.
The ferry to cross over the French Quarter is only a five-minute walk from the house and, bizarrely, currently costs nothing to use. The ferry operates every 30 minutes but at the moment the last ferry back is kind of early (8pm Friday, Sat) if you want to enjoy the French Quarter, this situation should hopefully improve in the near future. Don't let this put you off, you can always get a cab, and the views you get at night of the New Orleans skyline are stunning.
Loved every minute at the HORS and would love to go back. Well done Wendy and Kevin for providing a B&B that’s simply different and brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I had a great two-night stay at the House of the Rising Sun. Our room was very comfortable (with some of the softest sheets I've slept in). The location is ideal, near the French Quarter, but far enough away to avoid the craziness of the Quarter in the evenings. There is a bus and ferry convenient to cross the river into the quarter (though note that weekend hours for the ferry are pretty restricted).

Didn't get to meet Wendy, but Kevin was very kind, as was their dog, Boudin. Had a pleasant and friendly breakfast with Kevin and the other guests. A simple and tasty breakfast of yogurt, granola, fruit, and pastries was served.

A fantastic value, and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review! The ferry is on a temporary schedule at the moment as it changes hands from the DOTD to the RTA but should be back to normal by Jan.1st. We look forward to your return visit in 2014 and we must get to Austin some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The House of the Rising Sun while visiting friends in Algiers Point and enjoyed the relaxed and friendly atmosphere of both the community and the B&B. Our host, Kevin, knew much about the area's history and, of special interest to my husband, turned out to be a musicologist. Breakfast was fantastic, the room lovely, and Algiers Point is a treasure waiting to be discovered. We have stayed in many B&B's, and this one was first rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review and sorry we didn't get to see more of that banjo player :-) Now you have found us and we are only a couple of hours drive away, we hope to see y'all soon and discuss in depth Old Timey banjo playing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Made a four night stay for Voodoo fest. Hadn't done much planning other than purchasing tickets and reserving a room at this sweet B&B. Upon arrival, Kevin was welcoming with refreshment and much needed maps, directions, and inside scoop. My stay was made more personal than if I had just stated in a hotel. A comfortable bed, spacious shower, delicious and nutritious breakfast each morning with friendly faces and excited conversation about the days plans. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaFoxLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and glad you enjoyed the Voodoo Fest! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,834 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,074 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Property: House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing