We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying less for so much more - makes sense to me!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really appreciated the quality, service, and style of the breakfast, the ability to read books in Kevin and Wendy's very full book shelves, the chance to chat with Kevin while drinking early morning coffee on the back porch, the seclusion of the back garden with all of its lovely plants, two fish ponds and porch swing, the quietness of the general vicinity, the ease of access to the free ferry across the Mississippi, the general hometown safe feel of Algiers Pt., Boudin!, the comfort of the bed and the ability to do laundry were all very welcoming touches. We have already booked another stay - this time for our son and his fiance's wedding - and we have 'sold' my sister on the idea of booking her stay at the House of the Rising Son as well.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank UpNorthFolks371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to your return visit in October, and to meeting your sister, who will also be staying with us. Hope it's not too cold up there in Minnesota :-) T-shirts and shorts here in New Orleans today :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 551 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

With 160 review already as of this writing, it doesn't look like another is needed, but I'll chime in with my endorsement anyway.

The location is attractive. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood in Algiers, just across the river from New Orleans, which is reachable by a short walk followed by a quick, frequently running, and free ferry ride.

The house and the room we were in were nice and well kept. Proprietors Kevin and Wendy were personable, hospitable and helpful. Kevin served a nice breakfast of some sort of granola, fruit and yogurt with other stuff available too, and he stuck around for interesting conversation.

Be sure to check out their website at: http://www.risingsunbnb.com. "Kevin's story" shows him to be an interesting character, an accomplished amateur historian, and a very good writer. It's not surprising that he's interesting to talk to.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The House of the Rising Sun - in a quiet neighbourhood and very short FREE ferry ride to the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter. Our visit was made special by the hospitality of Kevin and Wendy, by the friendliness of the people in the area, and by visiting local "non touristy" bars. If you want to get under the skin of New Orleans then The House of the Rising Sun is the place to stay. Kevin will guide you through the musical and demographic history of the area - you will not get that in any 5 star hotel!
After a day walking far and wide it was great to get back to this quiet hamlet and listen to the silence, especially in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review! It was great spending 9 days getting to know you and glad you fell in with the party atmosphere of New Orleans over the New Year's Eve period. We hope you bring a "touch of Ireland" back this way soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here the first week of December 2012. Kevin is a generous host and we felt most welcome in his tidy home. The location couldn't have been better, a quiet, quaint neighborhood a short FREE ferry ride to the French Qtr. New Orleans is a great town, but Kevin's hospitality made it a memorable visit. We've already rebooked for next year. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myh58350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review and glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to your return "boat trip" in October for the conference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great place! A short walk to the ferry led to a scenic crossing of the Mississippi, into the bustle of downtown New Orleans on Canal street! Literally 5 minutes to the fun, yet back to a quiet neighborhood when needed. Kevin and Wendy were great - and of course the fabulous Boudin! The hospitality was unparalleled, and set the tone for our stay. Kevin knew a lot about the history of the area, and was a great resource. Many thanks to them, and hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review! We look forward to your next visit later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

When I need a place to stay Kevin, Wendy & Boudin make me feel like I am part of the family. It is near everything I love in New orleans and the neighborhood is charming and friendly. I highly recommend it anytoime you are in NOLA!

Room Tip: No pool unless you count the fish pond!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review and you are a welcome guest anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at HRS B&B between Christmas and New Years. We were looking for a relaxing opportunity to explore New Orleans and this was perfect. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. The House is beautifully decorated and spotless. Kevin is a local historian, full of friendly, knowledgeable advice, and a genuine nice guy. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of NOLA history, food and music. The breakfast was healthy, fresh and tasty. The location was perfect for us. We loved finishing the evenings with a ferry ride across the Mississippi from the crazy French Quarter to our quiet refuge in Algiers Point.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevlar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Yes, we do live in a beautifully quiet neighborhood, and so close to the French Quarter. Like all our guests, you loved the free ferry ride. Hope to see y'all back here some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
429 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, the original house being destroyed in the Great Fire of Algiers in 1895, this charming, relaxed "shotgun double" style cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short, 8-minute walk from the $2 ferry ($1 for seniors) to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. This three bedroom B&B features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, eclectic decor and private bathrooms for each guest room. Enjoy a free welcome drink in "Jelly Roll's Jumpin' Juke Joint" (our covered back porch) or relax there in the evening on the swing bench with a glass of wine or local beer. A healthy breakfast is provided each morning. A delight for Blues and Jazz fans! Visit our local bars, restaurants, coffee shops and stores and mix with the friendly locals. Or walk, jog, cycle, run along the Mississippi River levee and enjoy the most spectacular view of the French Quarter, day and night. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing