We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of the Rising Sun B and B in NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114 (Algiers)   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“House of the Rising Sun B and B in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here the first week of December 2012. Kevin is a generous host and we felt most welcome in his tidy home. The location couldn't have been better, a quiet, quaint neighborhood a short FREE ferry ride to the French Qtr. New Orleans is a great town, but Kevin's hospitality made it a memorable visit. We've already rebooked for next year. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myh58350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review and glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to your return "boat trip" in October for the conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great place! A short walk to the ferry led to a scenic crossing of the Mississippi, into the bustle of downtown New Orleans on Canal street! Literally 5 minutes to the fun, yet back to a quiet neighborhood when needed. Kevin and Wendy were great - and of course the fabulous Boudin! The hospitality was unparalleled, and set the tone for our stay. Kevin knew a lot about the history of the area, and was a great resource. Many thanks to them, and hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review! We look forward to your next visit later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When I need a place to stay Kevin, Wendy & Boudin make me feel like I am part of the family. It is near everything I love in New orleans and the neighborhood is charming and friendly. I highly recommend it anytoime you are in NOLA!

Room Tip: No pool unless you count the fish pond!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review and you are a welcome guest anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Country, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at HRS B&B between Christmas and New Years. We were looking for a relaxing opportunity to explore New Orleans and this was perfect. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. The House is beautifully decorated and spotless. Kevin is a local historian, full of friendly, knowledgeable advice, and a genuine nice guy. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of NOLA history, food and music. The breakfast was healthy, fresh and tasty. The location was perfect for us. We loved finishing the evenings with a ferry ride across the Mississippi from the crazy French Quarter to our quiet refuge in Algiers Point.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevlar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Yes, we do live in a beautifully quiet neighborhood, and so close to the French Quarter. Like all our guests, you loved the free ferry ride. Hope to see y'all back here some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Kevin's hospitality was great. Room was clean, decor was entertaining and the breakfast was just what you need when in the Big Easy. After all the fried fish, the poorboys, the gumbo, etc., a healthy breakfast was what I needed to start the day. Within walking distance of the Algiers ferry then Canal st. Good recommendations on Algiers restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEFSTONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Just to explain your comment on "ladies of the night"...our Queen size bed room and adjoining bathroom are filled with old posters, photographs and notices referring to the "ladies of the night" in the days of Storyville, the late 19th/early 20th century red light district, which was notoriously famous with both rich and poor alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Once again our hosts Kevin & Wendy were the most delightful, helpful hosts we have ever come across anywhere in our travels. This was our second stay with them and we went back because it was so delightful the 1st time round. We actually looked forward to our stay at their B&B.They make you feel so at home and the B&B is simply the best!!! There is not enough room in this review to list all that is great about this place, you just have to experience it for yourself but I can assure you, it is well worth the visit.

I know New Orleans, come from there, and can honestly tell you that if you want a TRUE New Orleans experience, this is the place to stay. Beautiful setting, quiet neighbourhood, walking distance to the ferry & quick ferry ride to all the N.O. attractions, clean fresh rooms,all you would want from a top notch B&B but what makes it stand out so far above the rest is your hosts. Kevin knows a thing or 2 about New Orleans & in my view is 1 of the best guides you could ask for.This place is a must and will make your trip. Can not recommend enough. Thank you Kevin & Wendy for making our trip so magical again. We will be back!

Room Tip: Every room has its own style and all are quiet and restful, you can't go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Londoncalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review on your second visit to the House of the Rising Sun B&B! We hope to see you again next year when you return to visit your sons and family members in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our stay with Kevin and Wendy was brief, as we were heading home the next day, but found them hospital and friendly hosts. They are ideally situated across the Mississippi from the French Quarter, giving a completely different aspect and experience of New Orleans. The Mississippi by night via the short ferry ride is a delight. Delicious breakfast and a wonderfully comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! You can always stay longer than one night next time. Please send along your Aussie friends :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,509 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,246 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing