We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Time in the Big Easy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at HRS B&B between Christmas and New Years. We were looking for a relaxing opportunity to explore New Orleans and this was perfect. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. The House is beautifully decorated and spotless. Kevin is a local historian, full of friendly, knowledgeable advice, and a genuine nice guy. He has an encyclopedic knowledge of NOLA history, food and music. The breakfast was healthy, fresh and tasty. The location was perfect for us. We loved finishing the evenings with a ferry ride across the Mississippi from the crazy French Quarter to our quiet refuge in Algiers Point.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevlar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Yes, we do live in a beautifully quiet neighborhood, and so close to the French Quarter. Like all our guests, you loved the free ferry ride. Hope to see y'all back here some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 544 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Kevin's hospitality was great. Room was clean, decor was entertaining and the breakfast was just what you need when in the Big Easy. After all the fried fish, the poorboys, the gumbo, etc., a healthy breakfast was what I needed to start the day. Within walking distance of the Algiers ferry then Canal st. Good recommendations on Algiers restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVEFSTONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Just to explain your comment on "ladies of the night"...our Queen size bed room and adjoining bathroom are filled with old posters, photographs and notices referring to the "ladies of the night" in the days of Storyville, the late 19th/early 20th century red light district, which was notoriously famous with both rich and poor alike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Once again our hosts Kevin & Wendy were the most delightful, helpful hosts we have ever come across anywhere in our travels. This was our second stay with them and we went back because it was so delightful the 1st time round. We actually looked forward to our stay at their B&B.They make you feel so at home and the B&B is simply the best!!! There is not enough room in this review to list all that is great about this place, you just have to experience it for yourself but I can assure you, it is well worth the visit.

I know New Orleans, come from there, and can honestly tell you that if you want a TRUE New Orleans experience, this is the place to stay. Beautiful setting, quiet neighbourhood, walking distance to the ferry & quick ferry ride to all the N.O. attractions, clean fresh rooms,all you would want from a top notch B&B but what makes it stand out so far above the rest is your hosts. Kevin knows a thing or 2 about New Orleans & in my view is 1 of the best guides you could ask for.This place is a must and will make your trip. Can not recommend enough. Thank you Kevin & Wendy for making our trip so magical again. We will be back!

Room Tip: Every room has its own style and all are quiet and restful, you can't go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristinaSNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review on your second visit to the House of the Rising Sun B&B! We hope to see you again next year when you return to visit your sons and family members in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our stay with Kevin and Wendy was brief, as we were heading home the next day, but found them hospital and friendly hosts. They are ideally situated across the Mississippi from the French Quarter, giving a completely different aspect and experience of New Orleans. The Mississippi by night via the short ferry ride is a delight. Delicious breakfast and a wonderfully comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! You can always stay longer than one night next time. Please send along your Aussie friends :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Thank you to Kevin and 'Boudin' for making our stay one of the best on our 3 week USA tour. My husband and I wish we could have stayed so much longer. It was so nice to have a chance to sit down and relax, even chilling out on the couch watching tv!! Kevin recommended great places to eat (2 or 3 good locals) The bed was comfortable and the room was huge. The bathroom was perfect and great shower!! The quirky little signs and extra things around the house set such an amazing tone to our stay! Im so glad we stayed out of the inner city, with the house being only a 5 min ferry ride away it was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Please send more Kiwis our way! Hope to see y'all back here some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This b&b is fabulous - exactly what you want from a visit to New Orleans. I really loved getting to know my host, and the dog (Boudin) is adorable. Thank you so much for your hospitality - I look forward to next time and will definitely stay with you again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Give our regards to Buddy Holly's statue and we look forward to your return in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with Kevin and Wendi at the House of the Rising Sun B&B. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, we were very comfortable and overcome with a sense of calm after the 6 hour drive from Houston. Algiers point and the B&B have lots to offer those trying to chill out after traveling or just a night out in New Orleans. Kevin and Wendi are great souls with lots of new orleans knowledge. Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: King room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameys21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Many thanks thanks for a wonderful review! Glad you had a safe drive home and look forward to seeing you, and your friends, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
496 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 142 in New Orleans
470 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 142 in New Orleans
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing