We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our stay with Kevin and Wendy was brief, as we were heading home the next day, but found them hospital and friendly hosts. They are ideally situated across the Mississippi from the French Quarter, giving a completely different aspect and experience of New Orleans. The Mississippi by night via the short ferry ride is a delight. Delicious breakfast and a wonderfully comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! You can always stay longer than one night next time. Please send along your Aussie friends :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 550 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Thank you to Kevin and 'Boudin' for making our stay one of the best on our 3 week USA tour. My husband and I wish we could have stayed so much longer. It was so nice to have a chance to sit down and relax, even chilling out on the couch watching tv!! Kevin recommended great places to eat (2 or 3 good locals) The bed was comfortable and the room was huge. The bathroom was perfect and great shower!! The quirky little signs and extra things around the house set such an amazing tone to our stay! Im so glad we stayed out of the inner city, with the house being only a 5 min ferry ride away it was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Please send more Kiwis our way! Hope to see y'all back here some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This b&b is fabulous - exactly what you want from a visit to New Orleans. I really loved getting to know my host, and the dog (Boudin) is adorable. Thank you so much for your hospitality - I look forward to next time and will definitely stay with you again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Give our regards to Buddy Holly's statue and we look forward to your return in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with Kevin and Wendi at the House of the Rising Sun B&B. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, we were very comfortable and overcome with a sense of calm after the 6 hour drive from Houston. Algiers point and the B&B have lots to offer those trying to chill out after traveling or just a night out in New Orleans. Kevin and Wendi are great souls with lots of new orleans knowledge. Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: King room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameys21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Many thanks thanks for a wonderful review! Glad you had a safe drive home and look forward to seeing you, and your friends, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Only 5 minutes by free ferry to the bustling centre that is the french quarter of New Orleans yet this bed and breakfast is quiet and tranquil and the rooma are beautifully decorated. There is free parking which is important in this city!! Also a good choice of eating and drinking locally for a quiet evening without going over the river. Excellent hosts ready with many jolly stories and interesting facts about the area plus information on where to eat or what to see etc...Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterjohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Give our regards to the Midlands and we hope to see you back here some time soon! Thanks for the English newspapers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Whenever visiting beloved New Orleans, my preference is to enjoy the comfort of the House of the Rising Sun. Being treated like one of the family, the relaxed atmosphere along with excellent service can not be beat. Located in the historic Algiers Point, restaurants and famous bars with live music make for a charming stay. Judy

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review!! We love you Canadians! Hope to see you back here in 2013 if time allows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with Kevin and Wendy at the House of the Rising Sun B&B. we knew its was going to be a great stay, for as soon as we arrived Kevin offered us an icy cold Abita beer. What a great welcome. The location is rally convenient to the main part of the city, just a free five min ferry ride away. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts are yummy. Most importantly, Kevin and Wendy are so friendly and offer so many useful tips. Thanks for an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again if you make it back to New Orleans from Oz. Glad you had such a great stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
427 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, the original house being destroyed in the Great Fire of Algiers in 1895, this charming, relaxed "shotgun double" style cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short, 8-minute walk from the $2 ferry ($1 for seniors) to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. This three bedroom B&B features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, eclectic decor and private bathrooms for each guest room. Enjoy a free welcome drink in "Jelly Roll's Jumpin' Juke Joint" (our covered back porch) or relax there in the evening on the swing bench with a glass of wine or local beer. A healthy breakfast is provided each morning. A delight for Blues and Jazz fans! Visit our local bars, restaurants, coffee shops and stores and mix with the friendly locals. Or walk, jog, cycle, run along the Mississippi River levee and enjoy the most spectacular view of the French Quarter, day and night. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing