We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our stay with Kevin and Wendy was brief, as we were heading home the next day, but found them hospital and friendly hosts. They are ideally situated across the Mississippi from the French Quarter, giving a completely different aspect and experience of New Orleans. The Mississippi by night via the short ferry ride is a delight. Delicious breakfast and a wonderfully comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! You can always stay longer than one night next time. Please send along your Aussie friends :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
337
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Thank you to Kevin and 'Boudin' for making our stay one of the best on our 3 week USA tour. My husband and I wish we could have stayed so much longer. It was so nice to have a chance to sit down and relax, even chilling out on the couch watching tv!! Kevin recommended great places to eat (2 or 3 good locals) The bed was comfortable and the room was huge. The bathroom was perfect and great shower!! The quirky little signs and extra things around the house set such an amazing tone to our stay! Im so glad we stayed out of the inner city, with the house being only a 5 min ferry ride away it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Please send more Kiwis our way! Hope to see y'all back here some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This b&b is fabulous - exactly what you want from a visit to New Orleans. I really loved getting to know my host, and the dog (Boudin) is adorable. Thank you so much for your hospitality - I look forward to next time and will definitely stay with you again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Give our regards to Buddy Holly's statue and we look forward to your return in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with Kevin and Wendi at the House of the Rising Sun B&B. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, we were very comfortable and overcome with a sense of calm after the 6 hour drive from Houston. Algiers point and the B&B have lots to offer those trying to chill out after traveling or just a night out in New Orleans. Kevin and Wendi are great souls with lots of new orleans knowledge. Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: King room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameys21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Many thanks thanks for a wonderful review! Glad you had a safe drive home and look forward to seeing you, and your friends, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Only 5 minutes by free ferry to the bustling centre that is the french quarter of New Orleans yet this bed and breakfast is quiet and tranquil and the rooma are beautifully decorated. There is free parking which is important in this city!! Also a good choice of eating and drinking locally for a quiet evening without going over the river. Excellent hosts ready with many jolly stories and interesting facts about the area plus information on where to eat or what to see etc...Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterjohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Give our regards to the Midlands and we hope to see you back here some time soon! Thanks for the English newspapers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Whenever visiting beloved New Orleans, my preference is to enjoy the comfort of the House of the Rising Sun. Being treated like one of the family, the relaxed atmosphere along with excellent service can not be beat. Located in the historic Algiers Point, restaurants and famous bars with live music make for a charming stay. Judy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review!! We love you Canadians! Hope to see you back here in 2013 if time allows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights with Kevin and Wendy at the House of the Rising Sun B&B. we knew its was going to be a great stay, for as soon as we arrived Kevin offered us an icy cold Abita beer. What a great welcome. The location is rally convenient to the main part of the city, just a free five min ferry ride away. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts are yummy. Most importantly, Kevin and Wendy are so friendly and offer so many useful tips. Thanks for an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again if you make it back to New Orleans from Oz. Glad you had such a great stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,306 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,200 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,693 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Property: House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing